Skip to content

In between

October 16, 2011

I’m kind of in a strange place with my training.

My 2011 ‘A’ race (Redman half distance) is over and I was really happy with my performance.  I executed perfectly and hit my goal paces spot on.

My 2012  ‘A’ race – or what I should call my ‘AAA+’ race – Ironman Coeur d’Alene is a little more than 8 months away.  Too early to start training for it, but nearly everything I do is with it in mind, so it’s difficult to not want to jump on Torch and start my 6 hour rides now, just so I’m prepared.

My next event is a century (100mile ride) put on by my cycling club on October 29th, and my next race is the Dallas White Rock Marathon on December 4th.  Right after Redman, I sprained my left ankle, so I had to take a week off cycling and 2 weeks off running.  Add to that the 2 week taper before the race, and my regular running has been ‘off’ for a month. 

So, I haven’t been running as much as I would have liked to given that WR is 7 weeks away, and I haven’t been riding enough to feel good about the century.  I think I have enough base to do both without too many problems… but I still don’t feel good about it.

—–

This week’s totals:

Swim: 8,675 yards

Bike: 76.18 miles

Run: 7.51 miles

Way too light on the bike/run.

—–

This week was my first week running again since the sprained ankle incident.  I took it super easy – 2 very easy 3-mile runs during the week and then what was supposed to be 15 miles today that ended up only being 1.5.

Yesterday, my friend Sharon and I swam 4000 meters and then rode 4 hours.  I didn’t fuel properly, we hit 20 miles of the most gorgeous rural scenery up at Pilot Point (near Celina) that had the worst chip seal known to man, and I bonked hard at the end.  Lesson to self:   oats + vanilla yogurt for breakfast just isn’t going to cut it.

Today was supposed to be a 15 mile run, but I am still feeling the horrific effects of yesterday’s underfueling, so I ran 1.5 miles and called it a day. Because of that, tomorrow I get the distinct pleasure of a 3 hour run after work. Joy. Smile

But all of that is made better by the awesome cheeseburger (homemade, with sharp cheddar and a little mayo on Kinnikinnick sandwich buns) with pickles & chips that I have waiting for me for dinner. 

IMG_3834

Oh and the ice cream after. Winking smile

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 17, 2011 5:59 AM

    Always good to listen to your body!! Hope youre feeling better today! Great dinner- love pickles

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

