Skip to content

My heart belongs to you

July 11, 2009
Why yes, yes it is

Yes, yes they are

In fact, I’m a major, huge, enormous fan of the new products Starbucks is offering.

First came the little slice of heaven:

starbucksgfcake

Individually-wrapped, pre-packaged slice of heaven, of course

And now they’re offering bars, too?

As if they hadn’t already won my heart (and my money) with their amazing coffee, now they have given me a reason to stop by for an afternoon snack as well.

On to the not-so-good news: apparently the Orange Valencia cakes aren’t selling so well.

I can’t say I’m surprised.

As much as I enjoy them, the 99% of America that doesn’t quiver at the mention of wheat isn’t going to voluntarily pick up something that says GF on it unless they are insane.

So I’ve been buying them up like my job depended on it (wait, what job doesn’t depend on orange-flavored almond cakes?) in the hopes that I will trick the little statistics people sitting behind their computers at Starbucks headquarters into thinking they are flying off the shelves.

I am – and will likely forever be – very loyal to Starbucks.  I feel that they have been very helpful and open to the Celiac community.  When creating the Orange Valencia cake, they went to great lengths to make it as allergen-free as possible – it is corn, dairy, and soy-free as well as GF.   But if the products don’t sell, they’ll discontinue stocking them and we’ll be back at square one.

I think it is fantastic that a major nationwide retailer has started stocking not one but several shelf-stable, affordable GF products.  Here in Dallas, there is a Starbucks on at least every corner (the exception being Dallas Love Field Airport – WTF is up with that?).  When traveling, I can put together a make-shift lunch with a latte, fruit cup, and a KIND bar or Orange Valencia Cake without having to make several stops at different stores.

The ball is rolling in the right direction for us… but there has to be enough demand to support Starbucks’ investment.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2009 2:31 PM

    I love these too! I don’t visit Starbucks often enough, but when I do, I snag one of these cakes…which are irresistable! I too hope they keep stocking them, those and the KIND bars, which I grab a bunch of every time I shop at Sprouts…they’re so tasty!

    Just discovered your blog, glad to find you! I am trying the GF diet to see if it alleviates symptoms, but I have a father, brother, and sister that are all celiac…and I have genes for gluten intolerance…so my odds are against me! It’s great to find others in the DFW area to chat about restaurants, etc.

    Take care!

  2. July 12, 2009 4:18 PM

    Who knew Starbucks was so… with it?! Well, at least in the US. 🙂 Such goodies haven’t made their way north of the border. Ah well, I shall live vicariously through bloggers who can eat these things and then post about how scrumptious they are. Mmm.

Trackbacks

  1. It’s all the same in the end « The Dallas Celiac

Leave a Reply

