Skip to content

Lazy Sunday

July 19, 2009

Sundays are weird days.  No matter how early you wake up, the day simply flies by.

Today it flew by, but part of that was because we were at the movies for 3 hours seeing the new Harry Potter movie, which shall be declared the longest movie ever.  I heard they are thinking of breaking up the last book into 2 movies.  I’d like to kiss the genius that came up with that one.

I started off this morning with a breakfast that I haven’t made in a while:  Protein Pancakes with fresh blueberries.  I have no clue why I don’t make them more often.

Unfortunately, I forgot to take a picture.   It looked a lot like this (except, you know, my pictures never look this good):

image.axd

Yum.

They’re super easy to make and the simple ingredients rock.  I gave up a long time ago on trying to make pancakes with rice flour.  These are way better and better for you.

After breakfast which really was lunch since it was eaten at 11:30 AM, we went to see the new Harry Potter movie.   My true love is chocolate-peanut butter crack Reeses Pieces but since they have both corn syrup and corn starch, they are no longer safe.  Ever since I discovered Raisinets now claim to have antioxidants (per their label), I’ve decided they are really a health food disguised as junk food and must have them when we go to the movies.  Totally justifiable, right?

Diet Coke with a side of Raisinets:  health food of the century

Diet Coke with a side of Raisinets: health food of the century

Harry Potter was good, but it was long.  I have no attention span and it seems to be getting worse as I get older.  I call my lack of attention multitasking;  my husband calls it ADD.

Anyway, by the time the movie marathon was over, I was hungry again.  We stopped by Freebirds, which is one of my “quick food” standbys.  I’ve always had good luck with them and I love that I can see them making my food before I eat it.  Who the hell knows what goes on in most restaurant kitchens.  (Actually, I do know.  I used to wait tables and there are a lot of places I wouldn’t eat even if I wasn’t food challenged).

I got the Bird Salad with chicken, a little rice, and tons of veggies, pico de gallo, and guac:

Super classy in the plastic take-out container

Super classy in the plastic take-out container

And now I’m about to open a bottle of wine and drink half of it have a glass.  I’m sure some chocolate chips will be involved, but we all know what those look like.

Goodnight!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

