Skip to content

Conspiracy Theory

July 23, 2009

Sometimes it seems the forces of the world are conspiring against you.

Sometimes they really are.  (You’re not paranoid, they’re really after you!)

I really, really, really wanted to post while I was traveling this week.  I brought my camera, brought an extra camera battery,  planned out exciting meals and snacks, and even came up with exactly what I was going to tell my lunchmates when they saw me pull out the camera.

But apparently I thought the pictures were just going to jump off the camera and onto my computer because I didn’t pack a camera cord.

No big deal though because my camera takes a very universal USB cord that I also use to charge my blackberry from my laptop.

..which was happily plugged into my docking station in my office in Dallas.

So, again, no big deal.  I’ll just steal a cord from one of the other gazillion people I work with that has a blackberry.

Except none of them had a cord, either.

After spending half an hour searching the office for something that would work, I finally found one.

Woohoo!  My troubles are over.

Back at the hotel, I snapped exciting pictures of the apple I was about to eat while I blogged, plugged the cord into my camera and laptop and sat down to offload the pictures.

And then my laptop died.  Apparently it got really confused as it was trying to map the company network drives and didn’t understand why it couldn’t find them when I was at the hotel.

Ok, ok.  Still no big deal.  I’ll blog in the morning when I get into the office.

But to do that, you have to remember to not leave your camera on the nightstand.  Which means I couldn’t take any pictures of food consumed that day, either.

At that point I gave up.

***

Typical breakfast:  gallons of coffee and hard-to-photograph dairy (yogurt in this case) with tons of blueberries.

For lunch we went to Souper Salad because I heard they had a GF menu.  It was possibly one of the best salad bar experiences I’ve had.  The produce was extremely fresh, clean, and everything was pre-chopped.  I hate salad bars where the vegetables are too big to eat, so you’re forced to either shovel them into your mouth or use a knife to cut the salad, both of which are strange.

x2

x2

You can’t see them, but 4 beet cubes made their way to my salad.  I was pretty sure I’d never had them before and after eating one cube, I’m fairly certain I will never have them again.  I couldn’t get them off my plate fast enough.  My coworker who does like them told me that he thought they had a really nice faint aftertaste of dirt, as if that was something the beet should be proud of. I prefer to avoid food that is dirt-flavored, thankyouverymuch.

My salad consisted of greens, tomatoes, carrots, green peppers, zucchini, peas, cucumbers, celery, cottage cheese, raisins, and a few pieces of pepperoni that went uneaten.

also x2

also x2

As soon as I got done eating my massive pile of vegetables, some nice person that worked there wheeled (I kid you not) out a cut-up watermelon the size of a small horse.  It was awesome.  I had lots of it.

Not pictured is a flight of red wine and the world’s smallest fruit plate.  After dinner, I headed to the hotel where I had some unpictured oatbran with cottage cheese and Mr. Apple, below.

Why yes, that IS a shower curtain in the background

Why yes, that IS a shower curtain in the background

Actually, I ate two apples.  The first one was so good I had another.  If the second one had been eaten first, I wouldn’t have had 2.  Ick.

Yesterday I ate a lot of salad, drank a lot of coffee, and had 2 more apples.  They were both edible this time.

Fast forward to tonight…

Looks just like the picture I posted last week, huh?

Looks just like the picture I posted last week, huh?

Sadly, the only veggies I consumed today

Sadly, the only veggies I consumed today

All together now

All together now

Protein pancakes with fresh blueberries and a salad with greens, blueberries, raw summer squash, red bell pepper, asparagus, carrots, and sugar snap peas.  From my dinner, one might presume that I really, really love blueberries or that I have a boatload of fresh ones that are beyond their last legs.  I’ll give you one guess.

And now I’m about to have some wine and dark chocolate and call it a day.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. tastyeatsathome permalink
    July 24, 2009 12:53 PM

    Still looks pretty healthy. Or at least, you’re leaving out the bad-for-you parts! 🙂

  2. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 1, 2010 2:42 PM

    Sorry I’m commenting on old posts, but I’m going back and catching up. that beet comment made me lol. I like beets, but he is kinda right about the faint dirt taste now that I think about it. Never thought of it that way…maybe I’ll reconsider my liking of them. hehe

    Heather@www.forthehealthofit01.wordpress.com

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      March 1, 2010 9:44 PM

      They totally taste like dirt. Though, that may not be a bad thing to some people… 🙂

Leave a Reply

