Skip to content

Getting my priorities straight

July 27, 2009

I have a theory about Manic Mondays.

I think they were created by the same evil being that created hangovers and cold headaches and banging your elbow on something.

It’s as if everyone that puts off doing work/having meetings/etc. on Fridays and does them on Mondays really doesn’t understand the cumulative effect of 2 days worth of work on the day you stumble bleary-eyed into the office after a blissful weekend on your couch.

It’s the same type of cruel that is having your fiscal year end right around Christmas time so it is impossible to truly take a holiday vacation.

You might now have an idea of how my day went.

It started off alright.

Didn't see this one coming, did ya?

Didn't see this one coming, did ya?

The first foul was my overnight oats (bran).

Don’t try this at home.  I’m not sure why overnight oats are so popular amongst bloggers.  I’ve tried it with both oats and oatbran and have come to the conclusion that raw oats are just not for me.  Too chalky and flavorless.

This looked way better than it tasted.  That says a lot.

This looked way better than it tasted. That says a lot.

This is a 1/3 c. oatbran soaked overnight in a 1/3 c. soymilk + 1/3 c. water and mixed with plain nonfat yogurt, blueberries, splenda, and walnuts.

(I’m not sure why I gave out the “recipe” – I really wouldn’t make these again.)

Lunch was supposed to be soup I made this weekend and a side of green beans, but alas, I never had a chance to eat it.

I never had a chance to eat my afternoon snack either, which was actually something different than oat bran and cottage cheese, but since I was so creative, you’ll have to wait until I eat it tomorrow to find out what it was.

I was so hungry when I got home that I dug into one of those individual size baggies of almonds.  They weren’t exciting, they were just almonds.

No workout.  I thought about running on the treadmill, but I was too hungry.

Dinner had to be quick and easy so I could get to the wine and chocolate chips earlier.

IMG_2257

An egg white omelet with grilled bell pepper strips and cottage cheese with lots of cumin, chipotle, and sharp cheddar.

Look!  It's a salad!

Look! It's a salad!

Spinach, red pepper, carrots, yellow squash, celery, cukes, and pineapple.  It wasn’t all that good, but it was filling.

On to the important stuff…

And…

A lot of wine and chocolate really make anything better.

(That could be the wine talking).

G’night!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. britt permalink
    July 28, 2009 8:29 AM

    i just found your blog (i believe through fitnessista) and just wanted to say hey! i live in the dallas area also. i have found very few food/lifestyle bloggers from this area so i was excited to find your blog!

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      July 28, 2009 9:56 AM

      Hi Britt! Thanks so much for reading and commenting. I love the Dallas area – wouldn’t want to live anywhere else (well, maybe the Bahamas… 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

