Skip to content

Lunchless again

July 28, 2009

This week is flying by and I haven’t made as much progress on my to-do list as I should have at this point in the week.

I woke up at 3:45 this morning for no particular reason, so this cup of joy was much needed and if it hadn’t been intermittantly raining and I hadn’t picked today, the muggiest, most humid day we’ve had this summer to dress up, I would have gone and gotten another.  I tried to convince one of my employees that she needed coffee, but she saw right through my thinly veiled concern for her caffeine intake.

Today was a better day than yesterday, but it was still ridiculously busy.  I have a hard deadline of Thursday at 2:45 PM to be done with a very large project, which is leaving little time for other things, like regular meals.

Part 1 of “Breakfast” was eaten at 11:45 as I ran out the door to my “Lunch” meeting.

This would be a banana with a half tablespoon of PB&Co’s Dark Chocolate Dreams PB.  I’m undecided on how I feel about this.  I was expecting more of a Nutella-like sweetness and flavor, but this isn’t really all that sweet.  I’m also not 100% sure how it is affecting my stomach as I’ve felt not-so-good for the past week anyway (I blame the CC from all the times I ate out while traveling last week).

Part 2 of my breakfast never happened.

Nor did lunch.

We went to lunch at a restaurant that has consistently glutened me in the past, so I didn’t eat.  In the past, I’ve sometimes felt pressured into ordering something (like a dry side salad) so I didn’t make anyone uncomfortable by not eating.  At chain restaurants, it’s really like playing Russian Roulette when trying to get something safe, and sometimes it’s just not worth it, but some people are uncomfortable eating in front of someone that’s not.

Thankfully I work with a lot of people that apparently don’t care if they chow down in front of me.

By the time we got back, it was well past lunchtime and I had about 5 seconds before another meeting.  Something’s up with my appetite lately.

Tide-me-over snacks included:

Some vegetables would have been a better choice.

Thankfully, dinner was already (mostly) made.

Crockpot barbecue chicken over salad.  We’re still tweaking the BBQ sauce recipe.  It was good today, but not great.  Wish we hadn’t made roughly 90 gallons of it.

Underneath the pile o’ chicken are greens, red pepper, celery, and yellow squash.

This was pretty satisfying and would have been great if the BBQ sauce was better.

Dinner part 2 was one of my favorites:

PB&J on Van’s GF Waffles.  These waffles are usually very good, but occasionally they have a really strong rice flour flavor.  Today was one of those days.

I also had some cherries!  Found some at the grocery store this weekend.  They’re perfectly ripe.

I have some work to do tonight before I collapse into bed, but there will definitely be some partaking of the Clos du Bois Cab I have open and perhaps the rest of the chocolate chips.

Tomorrow is the 29th!  Where did July go?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2009 6:14 AM

    Good question. Where DID July go? I have a bbq sauce recipe I love on my blog if you want to try it! That chicken looked amazing though!

  2. britt permalink
    July 29, 2009 8:14 AM

    hope the week gets better for you! that’s too funny you tried to convince someone they needed coffee so they could grab you one too. i know i’ve done that before. the coffee here at work is gross and i refuse to drink it.

Leave a Reply

