Skip to content

Bringing back Lunch

July 29, 2009

I love Wednesdays.  The week is half (or almost half)-over so there are less frantic requests as a Monday, but people are still generally around the office so things get done.

Fewer people are on the golf course on a Wednesday as opposed to a Friday. (I swear, if I wanted to find half the business men in the world, all I would have to do would be to drive over to the nearest country club.)

I also love that there are only 2 more days left in the week that I have to wake up at the crack of dawn.

Anyway, today was a slightly better day than this week has been trending… with the exception of one of the pieces of software I use decided to completely crash and corrupt all of the backup files.  😦

But at least I had my coffee!  Actually, I had this times 2.  I was successful in convincing someone else to get me Misto #2 for the day.  🙂

Cupholder Coffee

I was sitting at a red light so long this morning that I figured I might as well make use of the time.  Unfortunately, the light changed just as soon as I pulled out my camera.

Of course it did.

I made another banana with a half tablespoon peanut butter for breakfast.  I’m fairly certain that my body doesn’t like something about that Dark chocolate PB because I feel fine tonight after abstaining from it today.  I don’t understand what the problem is (even the jar says GF), but I won’t be eating it for a while.

I wouldn’t have thought this combo would hold me over well, but it really does and it’s incredibly convenient.

Part two of breakfast was the ever-photographable oats and cottage cheese.  The microwave at the office must be some sort of factory reject as it takes no less than 10 minutes to fully cook the oats, whereas I can get them nuked in 3 minutes flat at home.

Next up was LUNCH!  I was rather pleased that I actually got a chance to eat it today.

There were supposed to be some green beans to go with it, but they’ve been in the fridge for going on 2 weeks now and I’m pretty sure they’ve died a lonely death by now.

I made this soup this weekend.  It’s loosely based on Rachel Ray’s Chicken Provencal Stoup except I triple the vegetables and omit the potatoes.  I love this soup because it freezes really well and can be a clean-out-the-fridge soup if need be.

For a snack I tried this new dark chocolate pudding that I found at the grocery store this weekend.  I’m always really pleased to see “Gluten Free” stamped under the nutritional facts on labels, but it doesn’t guarantee it will agree with my stomach.

Actually, I had 2 of these.  It was a two pudding kind of day.

Of course, it would have been a lot smarter to have only had one serving of a brand new product to see how I reacted, but it was chocolate pudding.  Yum.

Dinner was awesome.

This is a take on a bean-less mexican chicken chili that my husband came up with.  I don’t eat legumes, so it is bean-less, but I bet it would be really good with some white beans.

It has chicken (big surprise), chiles, tomatoes, bell peppers, jalepeno, and onions in a seasoned chicken broth.  We served it over rice with a little mexican-blend cheese, sour cream, and I topped mine with Tabasco.

We don’t eat a lot of brown rice.  I know it is supposedly better for you (given the whole grains craze the country is in, you’d think white rice was akin to rat poison) but I don’t see any reason why on the occasion I eat rice, I should deny myself the kind I like.

So, you probably won’t see much brown rice here.  Or much rice, period.  I love big bowls of steaming rice with butter and salt but don’t eat it often.

Cherries for dessert:

And I bet you’ll be surprised to find out that I’m currently working my way through this…

…with plans for some chocolate later (because 2 chocolate puddings wasn’t enough).

I’m really, really looking forward to the weekend.  Unfortunately, things have been crazy at work lately and I’m not sure when that will change.  😦

My sister’s birthday is on Friday, so we’ll head her way after work on Friday, but no other weekend plans as of yet.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

