Skip to content

Chocolate-chip overload

August 2, 2009

Happy only-five-more-days-until-Friday, blog world!

Today started out pretty nutritiously.

Protein Pancakes with blueberries, SF syrup, and a little peanut butter hiding between the ‘cakes.

I also had 2 little oranges.   One was sour, one was not.

And of course there was some coffee…

Weekend coffee in a mug from the Gaylord Texan, where we spent our wedding night.   That’s Rescue Me on the TV.

The rest of the morning/early afternoon was spent doing half-way productive things like organizing the spice rack (mostly the husband, but as I am the official label-maker, I had an important role in today’s organization efforts), laundry (me), a few loads of dishes through the dishwasher (again, mostly the husband), and some half-working, half-worrying about work (all me).

I couldn’t decide what to eat for lunch.  I stood in front of the pantry for about 5 minutes and in front of the fridge for about 5 minutes before deciding on re-heated steel-cut oats, cottage cheese, 1/2 of a zucchini, grated, with raisins and cocoa powder.

I then consumed a good deal of chocolate chips while suffering through the first two (and the very last we’ll ever see) episodes of Party Down.  Good grief it was awful.

We did a good deal of bumming around on the couch while playing with the kitties.

He wrapped himself in pink yarn, I swear!

(Note the manly-looking foot.  Again, my husband’s, not mine)

Dinner was not the best choice.  We made grocery store run #4 of the weekend and I just happened to wander over to the baking aisle and notice they had Betty Crocker’s GF chocolate chip cookie mix.

Sooo, that was dinner.  To make it a little more nutritious, I had a sandwich with the last of the BBQ chicken from earlier in the week.

But that was really just so I wouldn’t go to town on these:

I restrained myself from having another serving.   I take great pride in that.

So, the last time I made the Betty Crocker mix, I added a little water because it wouldn’t mix.  This time, I stuck the stubborn ingredients in the microwave for 30 seconds to soften the butter a little more, and lo and behold, the chocolate chips melted.  Who would have thought that could happen?  So the chocolate chip cookies went into the oven looking more like brownies.  I had just as much difficulty cutting them as normal (I made cookie bars rather than cookies).  I swear, I really am cookie-challenged.

The good news is they taste really great.  If I could serve them to people blindfolded, that would be great.

That’s a little vanilla Ben & Jerry’s on top.  Heaven.

And now I’m on my first glass of this, but I don’t think I need any additional chocolate chips for the day.

Shocking, right?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

