Skip to content

Party Animal

August 2, 2009

Saturdays are somewhat of  ‘rush around doing errands so we can enjoy the rest of the weekend’ days for us, which generally means we feel like doing little more than sitting on the couch by the time Sunday rolls around.

We had quite a few errands to run yesterday, so we only bummed around the house for a little bit after waking up before heading out.

Breakfast, if you could call it that, was the rest of the watermelon

And not one but two cheese sticks.  I intentionally do not keep snacky foods around the house, with the exception of cheese sticks and the occasional pudding cup, because I will tend to snack instead of eat meals.  But that really puts me in a bind when I’m running out the door without time to make anything.

Unsurprisingly, “breakfast” didn’t hold me over, so I got a nonfat cappuccino at Barnes & Noble.

And when THAT didn’t hold me over, I snagged a Larabar from the grocery store.

This would be an in-car Larabar.  I rhyme!

This was AWESOME.  Totally tasted like a peanut butter cookie.  I will be buying these again.

When we got back, I was hungry again.  I think the Texas summer heat and being in a grocery store for 2 hours can do that to you.

1/2 c. Oikos nonfat plain yogurt, 1/2 c. fresh blueberries and a 1/2 c. Rice Chex.  I hadn’t tried the Rice Chex in yogurt before – I worried it would get soggy too quickly – but I was pleasantly surprised.

I don’t buy greek yogurt on a regular basis because the grocery store I normally frequent doesn’t carry the brands I like.  So when we get adventurous and go to a different one, I make a beeline for the dairy case.  I bought a few tubs of the Oikos, which is my 2nd favorite (Fage 2% is my favorite).

Before we left this morning, my husband made a Mexican-themed pot roast in the crock pot, so dinner was practically effortless.

I ate mine sandwich-style with Kinnikinick sandwich bread, a bit of mayo (about a 1/2 T.), a sprinkle of cheddar/Monterrey jack blend cheese, and watermelon & baby carrots.

It was really, really good.

Dessert was this x2:

This is supposed to be GF and the ingredients looked fine, but my tummy isn’t feeling perfect this morning so I may not be eating these again.  (So I say right now when I’m full and not craving chocolate…)

I also had some wine and dark chocolate chips while we watched The Watchmen.  I fell asleep about 75% of the way through (I’m a Saturday-night party animal) but I liked what I saw of it.

I have to cram in some work, a workout, and some house cleaning and it’s already 1 PM.  Better get moving…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

