Skip to content

Better Butter

August 9, 2009

Typical Saturday:  sleep in, lazily drink coffee and watch some TiVo’d shows, then run errands.

But first we went to lunch.

We were going to go to Kenny’s but when we got there, they weren’t open for lunch.

We were pretty upset (actually, we were incredibly pissed off that neither one of us bothered to check the hours), but had to eat something, so we went to Freebirds instead.

Freebirds wasn’t as good as usual.  Maybe because I had a burrito-maker that could not have been an employee of the company for more than 5 minutes before I arrived.  He was nice, but awful.

It also wasn’t what I wanted for lunch.  Usually I would eat Mexican above everything else, but I had been craving a nice piece of grilled fish for lunch and nothing was going to suffice except for that.

Matt (the husband) wasn’t enthused with his burrito either.

When we left, I mused that I really wanted some frozen yogurt but we weren’t willing to drive the opposite direction to get any.

But when we spotted Yogurtville, I squeeled and we pulled into the parking lot.

This is a really neat concept:  a self-serve, priced-by-the-ounce frozen yogurt bar.  Kind of like a salad bar for ice cream lovers.

I asked for the nutritional info when we walked in.  They had a binder with the ingredient listing for each yogurt.  The vanilla didn’t have any HFCS and the ingredient listing was very simple.  The chocolate did have HFCS but a little won’t kill me.

They didn’t have any specific GF listing, but I felt OK with the ingredients.  My philosophy is that if I take chances, I might get sick (and I definitely do) but never taking chances means I will miss out on a lot of things that could be perfectly safe.

This was mostly fresh fruit (strawberries, kiwi, and blueberries) with a fat-free vanilla and chocolate yogurt and some chocolate chips on top.  It was awesome.

Matt got cookies and cream fro-yo with oreos on top.

After Whole Foods stole all of our money (I can’t spend too long in that store before money just starts flying out of my wallet), we came home to throw all of the groceries in the fridge before they went bad.  15 minutes in the trunk of a black car in the summer in Texas makes you question the freshness of all of your (formerly) cold food before you eat it.

I got a little hungry as we were preping dinner.

I know green tea is supposed to be a nutritional powerhouse, but I’m not a fan except for Stash Chai Green Tea.  Good stuff.

I’ve been wanting to try this combo for a while since I’ve seen Allison eat them for dessert.

Dates with almond butter.  A-mazing.

Blurry picture was on purpose.  Artistic talent, I have it.

Since I didn’t get my fish for lunch, we picked some up at Whole Foods for dinner.

This is halibut, marinated in a sauce of:

  • 3 T. olive oil butter
  • 3 T. lemon juice
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 T. fresh chopped parley
  • 1 T. fresh chopped basil

Matt simmered this on the stove and then I threw it in the magic bullet before we threw it and the fish in the fridge to marinate for an hour and a half.

It was then broiled in the oven for about 25 minutes and then topped with this sauce:

  • 2 T. olive oil butter
  • 1-1/2 T. mayo
  • 1 T. lemon juice
  • 1 T. chopped green onion
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. Louisiana hot sauce
  • 1/4 c. parm-asiago-romano cheese blend

Blended and then warmed in the oven for a bit.

For the asparagus, we tossed with olive oil and kosher salt, then broiled in the oven along with the fish for about 15 minutes, turning once.  Then we topped with another batch of the sauce we marinated the fish in.

While we were at WF, this lept into my cart.

It was totally out of my control.

I believe this might be the third time I have made and eaten cookies in the last 3 weeks.

Oops.

I also ate way too many of them last night.  They weren’t quite as good as the Betty Crocker mix.

But that might be because this mix calls for HALF of the butter the BC mix uses.

Betty apparently understands the golden rule:  Butter ALWAYS makes things better.

One Comment leave one →
  1. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 2, 2010 10:59 AM

    I can TOTALLY relate on the WHole Foods and “money flying out of my wallet” scenario! I’ve actually started going to Sprouts Farmers Market. It’s like a mini, less expensive Whole Foods. Not as many choices, but their prices can’t be beat!

Leave a Reply

