Skip to content

Two-a-days (Coffees, that is)

August 13, 2009

Things I didn’t do yesterday:

1.  Go to the gym.  Oops.

2.  Eat a real dinner.

3.  Bring my camera home from the office.

______________

I’d like to blame not going to the gym on leaving my camera at the office but alas, that would be a lie.  I was just really tired and the thought of doing anything besides sitting on the couch was, well, tiring.

I’ve only been blogging for a month or so now (less than that, maybe), but it’s funny how not taking pictures of my food shaped what I ate.

I had five a couple date + almond butter shmears, eaten over the sink.

Then to continue the dried-fruit-as-a-substitute-for-really-bad-junk-food theme, I had a serving of dark chocolate raisinettes.  Definitely less delicious than the date + AB combo.

And then… I defrosted a Kinnikinnick pizza crust and made a mini-pizza.

And IT WAS AWESOME.

I had bought these a few months back when I saw them at the grocery store.  I hadn’t tried one for 2 reasons:  a) I really like my homemade pizza crust so there hasn’t been a reason to use a premade one, and b) While the crust does not contain any cornstarch (like the previous round ones did), it is dusted in corn meal.  Small amounts of corn close to corn’s natural state (i.e. corn kernels) don’t bother me as much as really altered corn (like corn syrup).  I figured it would be worth a try.

I tend to take risks with corn that I probably shouldn’t out of laziness or cravings. I feel best when I don’t eat any corn, but sometimes it’s worth a little bloating.

Last night I was feeling really lazy really adventurous so I gave it a try.

The dough was thick and chewy and had a great taste.  The pizza went from frozen to on my plate in about 15 minutes.  The only problem was that it stuck like glue to the foil I put down on the baking sheet because someone forgot to Pam it.

What can I say – it was a lazy night.

____________

Today is kind of like my Friday.  I recently realized that if I don’t take my vacation a half day or day at a time, I’m going to lose it all.

So I’m taking a half-day tomorrow because I deserve it after this last month.

And because I’m bribing my husband to hang the rest of the pictures in our house.  We’ve lived here for 10 months and have yet to hang 90% of our paintings and pictures.

I was so proud that we were unpacked within 3 days… and it’s taken us an additional 9 months and 27 days to hang some pictures.

Goes to figure, right?

The last of the watermelon for brekkie this morning.  This batch was better than the last one, but it was still nearing its death.  (To be accurate, it was dead before I got it, but you know…)

I also had some yogurt + berries:

These golden raspberries are also on their last legs.   I’d like to say that there were some walnuts hiding under the berries, but they were actually hiding in a bag in my purse.  They were shy.

I intended to have a proper lunch, but got called into a meeting instead, so I made up for it by having coffee #2 of the day.

Nonfat cappuccino.  So good.

My dinner plans got rescheduled for next week, so it looks like I will be able to make it to the gym tonight after all. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

