Skip to content

A Real (International) Hero

August 15, 2009

Happy Saturday, folks!

Woke up late because I stayed up late finishing that bottle of wine.

Because of yesterday’s really caloric dinner,  I wasn’t hungry at all when I woke up.  Usually hunger is what gets me out of bed in the morning (well, that and the promise of coffee).

Speaking of, I had some weekend coffee:

And a little watermelon, courtesy of the Mr. Watermelon that committed suicide out of the car trunk last night.  Don’t worry, I rescued his split-open self and salvaged 99% of the contents.

And then I ran a quick but glorious 3.5 miles.

We headed out to look at possible new cameras.  My current one was top of the line when I bought it… 4.5 years ago.

Of course, it’s also possible that the main problem is my photography skills and not the camera.

Before we left, I made a few snackies to take with me.

Brown Sludge Spinach, strawberry, and soymilk + soy protein smoothie.  Apparently the brilliant colors of green from the spinach and red from the strawberries make a really appetizing brown color.

And a pretty apple.

After some (unsuccessful) shopping, we met my parents to see GI Joe.  I had a Larabar during the movie (Peanut Butter Cookie).

The movie was awful.  I was actually bored watching it.  It’s almost as if someone decided they wanted to make a movie centered around as many explosions as possible and it took so many brain cells to design and develop those explosions that they simply didn’t have any time or brain power left to develop a plot.

I’m also a bit bothered by the fact that they took a classic for us Gen Xers and made it an International team.  Is it now non-PC to have the strike force be all American?  I thought the tag line was “A Real American Hero”? Apparently being pro-American is now not politically correct.

We were all hungry after the horrible excuse for a movie so we dropped by Boston’s for dinner.  Boston’s is a sports-bar chain-type restaurant that used to be unmemorable to me until I heard that they now have gluten-free pizza crust.

This was the Sicilian with italian sausage, pepperoni, red onion, green pepper, tomatoes and basil.  And cheese, of course.

Oh my God.  This was amazing.  There wasn’t a single thing I would have changed about it.

Except to make it a little smaller.  If you put it in front of me, I will eat the entire thing.  And I did.

I mentioned to the server that I was appreciative of the new GF crusts and how they were being cognizant of Celiac disease.

His response?

“Oh, yeah, we even make them on a separate counter and now we use different pans because someone got sick.”

Good for him that I’d already ordered because that statement didn’t make me feel all that comfortable.

I have my fingers crossed that I don’t get really sick, but man was it good.

For dessert, I’m having the ususal:  red wine + chocolate chips.

Off to relax with Mad Men and the husband…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

