Skip to content

5 Courses of Awesome

August 17, 2009

 

IMG_3150

Dinner at Stephan Pyles was spectacular.

Everything about the restaurant is amazing.  I wish I had taken pictures of the interior.

IMG_3126

This was an amuse bouche of mushroom puree, beef rib, and fig.  I love sweet & savory combos.

IMG_3136

The first course wine was Catena Chardonnay.  Buttery and rich.

IMG_3137

It went perfectly with the first course of Scallop and Pork Belly Carnitas with Sweet Potato Hash, Smoked Onion Confit, and Plum Puree. 

The scallop was buttery and perfectly cooked.  And the Smoked Onion Confit with the Carnitas was so good.

IMG_3140

The second course wine was Hook and Ladder “The Tillerman” red blend.  I liked this one a lot.

IMG_3142

Second course was 48-hour Braised Beef Cheek with Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes and Baby Squash.

I’ve never had beef cheek (the thought of it kind of creeps me out) but this was the most tender cut of beef I’ve ever had.  It practically fell apart. 

The mashed potatoes weren’t ridiculously garlickly but had a good flavor.

IMG_3146

I’m not sure what the dessert wine was beyond being a dessert wine.  I’m not really into syrupy sweet wines, so this was just OK.  Matt got a rose which was a lot more exciting (and that says a lot, since I don’t like rose).

IMG_3149

IMG_3148

Dessert was sorbet:  lemon, strawberry-basil, and mango, on top of strawberries, blackberries, and blueberries that were drizzled in a “fruit soup” (whatever that was) tableside.

It was good and very refreshing.

I seem to have an insatiable appetite today, so I had some watermelon when we got home, aka course #5.

IMG_3153

Mr. Watermelon wasn’t exactly 4 star, but good enough.

The best part about tonight (aside from the food, of course) was that the restaurant had made note of my food requirements when we made the reservations.  When the server came to the table to introduce himself, he asked who had the gluten allergy and proceeded to tell me exactly what I could have on the menu.  The coordination amongst the servers who brought the bread to the table and our head waiter was outstanding.  Never once did anyone try to offer me bread.  When he brought the second round of desserts (4 bite sized treats:  a chai chocolate, a lemon tart, a meringue, and a peanut butter cookie), he apologized that there was not one I could eat (which was good, because the chai chocolate sure looked safe).  I could go on and on, but I was incredibly impressed not only with their knowledge of Celiac but how much they did behind the scenes.

We will definitely be returning.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 18, 2009 8:28 PM

    Your dinner looks fabulous! I admit, dessert looks like the best part. 🙂 Strawberry-basil sorbet is a combination I would never have thought of, but I bet it was really good.

Leave a Reply

