Skip to content

Mexican + M&Ms

August 21, 2009

When I got home from work, we all decided we were hungry and headed up to the little Mexican restaurant up the street.

This is truly an authentic place.  They cater more to the Hispanic community – the menu is in Spanish with English subtitles and the TVs in the place are all tuned to Spanish channels. 

Not really the type of place you would think would be OK for food allergies, but with authenticity in this scenario comes simplicity.  They thicken all of their sauces with cornstarch and always have GF white corn tortillas on hand.

While I typically avoid corn, I do eat it a couple times a year.  Consuming corn on a daily or even weekly basis makes me feel under the weather and bloated but I do not have a corn allergy and eating it does not cause any villi damage.  I’m fortunate that if I stay away from it 99% of the time, I can usually get away with eating it once in a while.  I can’t do that with gluten – ever – so it’s nice to not feel like my diet is so restrictive all the time.

It has been quite a while since I’ve had any, so going out for Mexican was a nice treat tonight. 

I love being greeted with a big basket of fresh, hot tortilla chips.

IMG_3262

So good.

IMG_3263

Warm salsa and a seasoned refried bean dip.

IMG_3268

Super good queso.

IMG_3270

And guac that kind of tasted like soap.  Not sure what was going on with that.

I ate my fair share of the chips + dip.  Give me plenty of hot, salty chips and dips and I’m a happy camper.

For my entree, I went with the tried-and-true pollo fajitas.

IMG_3272

IMG_3271

I ate about 1/3 of all of this, made into burritos with corn tortillas.  It was really delicious but I got full really quickly.

When we got back, I had some of my favorite candies ever:  Peanut Butter M&Ms.

IMG_3282

Why yes, those are my blue fish pajama pants.  I definitely value stylish PJs.

Heaven = sitting on the patio with good company, after a good meal, in really nice weather in August in Dallas.  The thunderstorm that woke me up this morning turned into a sunny day which turned into a gorgeous evening with a cool-ish (hey, it’s still August in Dallas) breeze.

We sat outside chatting and smoking cigars (none tonight for me) long enough that I had a Makers Mark + Diet Coke.

IMG_3292

I also had several Hershey’s Nuggets.  They were camera-shy.

I’m not sure what our plans are for tomorrow.  I’d like to get in a few hours of work, but we’ll see how I feel about that when I wake up tomorrow.  It’s always less appealing on Saturday morning.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2009 10:00 AM

    mmm the more authentic, the better (in my opinion!) All those dips look sooo good- especially the refried beans (YUM!) Glad you had a nice night 🙂

  2. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 2, 2010 11:11 AM

    What is the name of this Mexican place? Looks goood!

Leave a Reply

