Skip to content

Almond butter is not a pre-run snack

August 25, 2009

This morning, on my way to work, I did the typical Starbucks thing.

Or, I should say that I attempted to do the typical Starbucks thing since two large Cintas trucks had parked horizontally across the parking spots.  I guess they were ready for coffee.

Nonetheless, I persevered and parked in the McDonald’s parking lot and walked over. 

What would I do without my daily Starbucks?

(Probably be a lot richer)

IMG_2330

H2O melon for breakfast:

IMG_3446

Had a lunch meeting at the restaurant that likes to gluten me, so I just had coffee.  One day I’ll take a picture of the coffee.  Wait with baited breath.

Just as the waiter had brought the food, I got a call that our insurance company came by for a previously scheduled meeting that I had completely forgotten about.  My boss did a good job of covering while we finished up at the restaurant and then I had the great pleasure of sitting through a 2 hour long meeting on how we can put our employees through defensive driving to prevent accidents, complete with diagrams and graphs.  Oh joy.

After that meeting, I was pretty excited about actually eating something.  I snapped a picture and had one bite…

IMG_3450

…before I had to pack up the rest of the asparagus, snap peas, sliced (raw) yellow squash, and guacamole and head into another meeting.

I had a mini baggie of almonds (about 1/4 cup) during the meeting too.

At home, I had 2 cheese sticks and a bite of almond butter and then ran 5 miles. 

One might think that that would not be an adequate pre-run snack.

That would be right.  I think the almond butter was bouncing around in my tummy the entire time.

Dinner was super quick and simple: an omelet.

IMG_3453

This one contained one whole egg, 3 egg whites, lots of tri-colored bell pepper strips, a little cottage cheese, mexican spices and salsa on top.

Something was off about it.  But it did the trick.

IMG_3459

I also had two small oranges.  I can’t remember when I bought them, so it’s probably a good thing they’re getting eaten up.

In case you’re wondering, I don’t take nice candlelit photos with cloth napkins and place settings because I eat on the couch, in front of the TV or laptop.  Classy.

IMG_3460

I haven’t been snapping pics of my wine + chocolate chip habit lately but don’t think it’s because I’ve not been partaking in it.  It’s just that I usually start on it after I post and, well, as much as I talk about it, I worry that if it was the first picture on every post, one might think I was a bit of a lush, drinking for breakfast.

Cause I only do that on weekends would never do that.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 26, 2009 7:44 PM

    hahah- we may both be richer without starbucks…but no by much PLUS we’d be grumpy 🙂 What a busy day! Your eggs for dinner look fabulous. I think we’re having eggs tomorrow night

Leave a Reply

