Skip to content

Such is life

August 27, 2009

Happy Thursday, blog world!

Definitely my favorite day of the week.  I’ve sat through about a gazillion meetings this week, which is fine and dandy if it’s your job to attend meetings, but I have other stuff that has to be done.  In fact, I have 40+ hours a week of work that has to be done at my desk, so when I’m in meetings all the time, I have to find other time to do that work.

Such as weekends.

Such is life.

I felt very unmotivated to make a good dinner last night so I snacked until I was hungry enough to make the effort.

IMG_3477

I ate two of these.  I love string cheese.

Plus a teaspoon of almond butter that I used as a spoon to shovel more into my mouth after I took this picture.’

IMG_3480

A clean-out-the-fridge salad:

IMG_3489

IMG_3491

Eaten out of the mixing bowl.  Classy.

This guy had tons of spring mix greens, cukes, okra (raw), peach, red pepper, blueberries, and an orange.  Topped with Fig Balsamic Vinegar, olive oil, and honey.

Plus an apple with a puddle of almond butter

IMG_3487

After this, I smartened up and put the almond butter away.  Far away.

Last night also included the usual wine + chocolate chips.  Except that I might have had double the portion while watching Mad Men.  Is anyone else bothered that they left so many things unexplained between seasons 2 and 3?  Like what happened to Duck?

I tried really, really hard to take a picture of at least one of my two coffees today.  In fact, I tried so hard to take a picture of my cappuccino that I managed to spill it all over myself. 

So just imagine the frothy goodness that is Starbucks, times two. 

I also had some yogurt and blackberries, per usual.

IMG_3492

Frozen blackberries are so delicious.

Lunch was easy.  I’ve been slowly but surely taking over the office fridge by bringing in a plethora of food each morning and then not eating it all.  One would think that I would remember the uneaten food when I packed my food the next morning, but.. I pack my food before I get coffee.  I’m honestly not sure how I manage to get myself dressed and made up and out the door each morning without wearing the wrong shoes or my shirt backwards. 

So lunch was some soup that has been in the office freezer for longer than I care to tally up.

IMG_3501 It was still delicious, though.  All you can see is tomatoes, red peppers, and chicken but there was a bunch of onions, celery, portabellos and spinach as well.

Easy and filling.

Back to work.  My phone is ringing off the hook.  The plan is to go to the gym tonight to lift weights but I think I might abandon it again for a run. 

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 28, 2009 9:57 PM

    So apparently you share my love of almond butter…and I agree…red wine and chocolate has to be good for you with all those antioxidants.

Leave a Reply

