Skip to content

Cheese & Chocolate

August 28, 2009

One thing I have learned about my eating habits over the years is that I, like most people, will wildly overeat if I wait too long.

And yet, knowing so doesn’t always mean that I have the opportunity to eat every 3 hours. 

All I managed to find time to eat today before I left the office (at the normal people hour of 5:30 PM, I might add) was the protein shake/grey monster and an apple.

IMG_3542

It was an awesome, delicious apple, but it was still only a single apple.

I was starving when I walked in the door.  The first thing I went for was a string cheese stick.  Surprised, right? 

Then I moved onto the dark chocolate + almond butter combo.

IMG_3543

(Imagine this without the wrapper, plus almond butter)

And then I went back for another cheese stick.

And then another chocolate square with almond butter.

At that point, I realized that if I didn’t eat something more substantial, I was going to eat my weight in chocolate and almond butter.  And cheese.

IMG_3544

So I had the other Larabar I bought the other day.  Still not a huge fan.

That only took the edge off the hunger, so I went to Freebirds.

The funny thing is that I’d been craving Freebirds all day.  I’d put off going because it’s a bit of a drive and the last thing I wanted to do after a long day was drive.

But I made it and ordered a bird salad with lettuce, jack cheese, white meat chicken, tons of roasted veggies, tons of pico de gallo, some red onion, lime juice, and guacamole.

Pre mix:

IMG_3546

I threw on some Louisiana hot sauce when I got home.

IMG_3549

And post mix, plus extra guac on top.  Can’t have too much of that stuff.

IMG_3554

I’m constantly amazed at how simple meals that I could make at home somehow taste a gazillion times better when someone else makes it.

To round out the night, I’m having more of the Chilean wine from yesterday

IMG_3565

plus my daily shot of antioxidants from cocoa.

IMG_3573

Happy Friday!  I hope to sleep in a little tomorrow since I didn’t sleep well a few nights this week.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 6, 2012 12:59 PM

    I’m so glad you enjeyod reading 🙂 I’ll be adding more recipes for Christmas this week, and have updated the “Don’t Forget” section with some previously posted things.Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

