Skip to content

Really Cheesy

August 28, 2009
tags:

TGIF!

Or maybe not.  I have so much to do this weekend.

Last night I finally made it to the gym to do weights, but my heart wasn’t in it.  I was really dragging and only did a little cardio after.  I’m nice and sore today so it seems that I got a decent lifting workout in, but I would have liked to have done more.

It occurred to me on the drive home that I hadn’t eaten a single item with any significant carbs in it all day.  The milk in my misto was probably the bulk of all carbs consumed before the workout.

I don’t track the macros, but I tend to feel better and full longer if my diet is comprised mainly of protein+ fat, plus fruits and vegetables.  I should probably aim for more fruit as a snack to provide easy energy.

More munchies yesterday afternoon included veggies + dip.

IMG_3505IMG_3503 IMG_3507

Vegetables (asparagus, snap peas, carrots, and okra) as a spoon for other vegetables (guac and salsa)?  What a novel idea.

I’m pretty over the raw okra thing.  Too slimy.  The first bite is crunchy and then the slime kicks in and my mouth feels like I just ate a big pile of sludge. 

I also had a few walnuts, which I’m also not liking plain.

IMG_3509

If you had a lifelong ambition to see what a walnut looks like from the inside of a plastic bag at 800000x zoom, there ya go. 

After the crappy workout, I munched on some cheese sticks before I took a shower.  The husband was at a neighborhood association meeting and I was not a bit concerned about the cats being offended by my sweaty self. 

IMG_3511

This, um, times 3.  I have no control around those delicious sticks of cheese.  At least they aren’t really all that bad for you.

Dinner was dreamt up in the shower.  I have done the baked ziti knockoff with steamed vegetables (to add bulk) before, but tonight I cut out the pasta and went straight for the good stuff.

IMG_3512

Right out of the oven. 

IMG_3515

Another mixing bowl.  Clearly we value using our good china for dinner each night.

IMG_3518

And… the usual suspects:  asparagus, yellow squash, red pepper, snap peas, and carrots with tomato sauce, cottage cheese, a few turkey pepperoni, and a healthy dose of mozzarella and a Romano-Asiago-Parm blend sprinkle.

Soooo good.

Enjoyed with a glass of this new wine

IMG_3522

which I really enjoyed.  It was light but not too light.

This morning while making myself presentable, this little one played with an earplug underneath the bathroom door.

IMG_3527

Like kids, you can spend fortunes on catnip-filled toys for them but what they really want, is the earplug.

Or the plastic grape.

Or the cork from the wine bottle.

I give up.

Clearly he was tuckered out by the time I made my smoothie.

IMG_3535

All mixed up and ready to be spilled in the car on the way to work

IMG_3533

IMG_3534

Actually, I didn’t spill it this time.  I know, I’m surprised too.  I’m the spill queen.

This had a ton of spinach, soymilk, blue + black berries, half a frozen banana, and a scoop of soy protein.  I stuck it in the freezer at the office while I drank my coffee and while the texture changed a bit, it was still good.

Speaking of coffee.

I seem to forget to take pictures lately.  I wonder if it is my subconcious telling me that no one really wants to see a picture of the same Starbucks cup every day.  Cause I even get tired of looking at it.

So if there isn’t a picture, don’t worry – I haven’t had a coffee-free day in years and I’m not about to start.

I’m having dinner with a girlfriend tonight.  The goal is to run afterwards, but I suspect that will depend on how much alcohol is consumed at dinner.

Until then…

One Comment leave one →
  1. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 2, 2010 11:17 AM

    Yay! Someone that loves string cheese as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

