Skip to content

An M&M kind of day

August 31, 2009

It’s been a whirlwind day as most Mondays are.

But let’s back up to yesterday…

Woke up, decided that it was the day to sit on the couch eating M&Ms.  We all have those days, right? 

This is what the bag looked like when I was almost through it…

IMG_3602

Yeah, they were really good in a full-of-corn-syrup-and-trans-fat way. 

The real breakfast was at a restaurant called Cafe Brazil just around the corner from our house.

IMG_3604

Good Brazilian coffee with a little milk.

And their “vegetarian” omelette:  spinach, mushrooms, bell peppers, onions, broccoli and tomatoes.

IMG_3607

IMG_3605

Plus a side of fruit (orange, melon, pineapple, strawberries, grapes and blueberries).

This was really good and so far, I haven’t had any reaction. 

This also was the second omelette they brought me.  Despite telling the waitress that wheat products couldn’t touch my food for even a second, the plate where the fruit cup is had what appeared to be bread crumbs on it.  It looked like someone had slapped down a piece of toast and then realized their mistake and replaced it.

Sooo they remade it and it was delicious.

I was still really full from the M&Ms so this put me over the top and I wasn’t hungry until late last night.

I had a cheese stick while doing my income tax homework and we shared about half of this enormous bowl of grapes afterwards.

IMG_3610

IMG_3616

And then a little while later, a Larabar.  I swear, these things really do taste like peanut butter cookies.

IMG_3617

We’re currently working our way through season 2 of Big Love.  I really didn’t like it when I saw the first few episodes – it was almost painful to watch, given that I have no inclination to share my husband with anyone – but we are really liking them now.

I had some wine and chocolate chips. 

IMG_3619

I love this wine.  Inexpensive, full-bodied, and awesome.

But apparently I had too much because I fell asleep on the couch and woke up to Zeus the kitty headbutting me awake.

And that is precisely why the kitties do not sleep in our bedroom.

This morning I had the usual.

IMG_3623

It wasn’t all that good this morning.  I only drank about half, which is probably why I am dragging right now.

Then I left for what should have been a quick trip to take the turtles to the vet.  That quick trip actually ended up being 3-1/2 hours and completely killed my productivity.

IMG_3628 IMG_3629

Turns out, “Olivia” might actually be “Oliver”.  The vet is pretty convinced.  Oops.

Franklin, whom we’re also pretty sure is male, seems to think “Olivia” is a she.  I’d trust his instincts but the vet also said that they will hump rocks. 

Oh.

Franklin is spending the next few days at the vet because he was not being free with showing his head or his tail.  If I remember correctly, the last time he saw Dr. Moore, he got a tube stuffed down his throat, so this time he was more than prepared.  His stubbornness is the reason I was there for 3 hours, but it now seems like I should have just left after Olivia was cleared since it didn’t do me any good to sit around and pray my blackberry didn’t ring.

Anyway, the turtles got the thumbs up except for a few things we might change in their habitat and I’ll go back later this week to pick Franklin up. 

The first chance I had to eat was on the way back to the office.  I had another PB Cookie Larabar.

Before I left the office (which was only 2 hours later), I had some plain Oikos and blueberries.  I’m not a huge fan of fresh blueberries in yogurt but these were on their way out.

IMG_3632

Then I noticed that I had a nearly flat tire, so I met the husband at the little hole in the wall mechanic we take my camero to to get checkups and we left the car overnight.

At home, I tore into the cheese sticks.

IMG_3638

It appears Sargento shorted me again.  Seriously?  I thought these things were sized by machines.

And some cantaloupe that wasn’t all that good.

IMG_3640

See the naked wallpaper-less walls?  The wallpaper was torn down today and tomorrow they start painting!

Because the kitchen is an enormous mess, we set out to find some “fast” food to bring home. 

Clearly that led to Freebirds.

IMG_3645

Lettuce, grilled veggies, chicken, cheddar, tons of pico de gallo, red onion, and guac.

It was glorious as usual.

I had a spoonfull of almond butter for dessert.  Can’t beat that.

IMG_3649

And now I’m due in for some wine and chocolate chips.  Because tomorrow I’m going to have to do everything that I should have done during my time at the vet today. 

Joy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2009 8:13 PM

    Your turtle pictures made me laugh! Too bad about the mix up… I’m sure they’ll understand. 🙂

    I’m glad the restaurant was so accomodating with your order – that’s encouraging to hear. Not to mention, that omelette looks fantastic!

  2. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 2, 2010 11:23 AM

    I want a turtle. I think my dog would def try to eat it tho. He will eat anything, including people. lol. Beware!

    Heather@www.forthehealthofit01.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

