Skip to content

Leavin’ on a jet plane

September 1, 2009

Happy September!  Football season is officially in full swing this weekend when OU will wipe the floor with BYU.  I love September.

Apparently, my camera decided that it was going to protest its overuse by draining itself of its battery overnight, giving me no warning that it needed to be charged.

Fortunately, my meals weren’t all that exciting today anyway.

Since my car was in the shop, the husband drove me to work.  On the way we made a pit stop by Starbucks and I got my usual.  I saw that they have apparently rolled out their Pumpkin Spice lattes and Anniversary blend.  I love fall!

I had a smoothie made of soymilk, protein powder, spinach, frozen berries, frozen peaches, and half of a frozen banana.  It was awesome.

I also had a few vegetables (asparagus, snap peas, and carrots) with salsa.

And then a huge grapefruit.

I scraped the last of the jar of almond butter and ate about a tablespoon before I went for a 5 mile run.  It was glorious as usual.

IMG_3650

As I was cooking dinner, I had a hunk of jack cheese.

And a banana.

IMG_3652

See the background?  The walls are painted !!!

And finally, dinner.

I made baked tofu a la Gliding Calm.  I used Nasoya extra-firm tofu and mexican-inspired spices and apparently a bit too much honey.

IMG_3661

I also made zucchini chips.

They’re a little on the burnt side, but really, really good.  Can you believe this was an entire zucchini?  I think I’ll have to cut up a couple zucchinis next time.

IMG_3662

And a beautiful puddle of ketchup (Muir Glen Organic) to dip both in.

For dessert #1, I had a peach

IMG_3655

And a pluot (a cross between a plum and an apricot).

IMG_3657

The peach was kind of watery-tasting.  I’ve found bigger fruits are less flavorful.  But the pluot was pretty good.

IMG_3658

Dessert #2 will be the usual wine + chocolate chip combo here in a bit.

I’m on the blurry-eye to OKC tomorrow for a couple days, so I’m going to head to bed early.  I don’t sleep well when I have to fly out the next morning – I think I subconsciously worry that my alarm won’t go off – so I try to go to bed early if possible.

But the good news is that I have my battery charged and my connector cable packed this time, so I’ll see you then!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

