Skip to content

S.A.D.

September 5, 2009

It goes to figure that the first holiday weekend we’ve had in a while that I’ve seen as an opportunity to do something other than spend catching up on work, I get sick.

Ugh.

I think I have some sort of cold/virus.  I have a sore throat, cough, and headache.

This morning, I stood in front of the fridge with the door open for long enough that I probably should be worried about the freshness of the food inside, trying to decide what to eat.  I finally spied some strawberries that were screaming to either be eaten or fed to the garbage disposal, so the decision was made for me.

IMG_3748

I also cut up an enormous peach and threw both on top of a yogurt mix of a baby container of 0% plain Oikos and 1/2 cup Dannon plain whole milk yogurt.  I am not a huge fan of 0% Oikos – I think it is too tart – but mixed with the Dannon, it was delicious.  I like the texture of the Oikos but the taste of the Dannon. 

The rest of the afternoon can be summed up by this little mug.

IMG_3749

I made my own hot cocoa by combining 1/4 cup cocoa powder with 1/2 cup granulated stevia and a little water in a saucepan.  I heated it up to just under boiling and then threw a few tablespoons in a cup of soymilk and nuked it. 

I practically lived on this combo with almond milk when I first got diagnosed.  I craved it all the time.  For comfort food, it could be a lot worse.

Drinking it helped my throat quite a bit and I’m feeling slightly better.

I had a handful of chocolate chips on our way to the grocery store this afternoon.

When we got back, I tried one of my new purchases.

IMG_3752

This was my first time trying the flavored Oikos.  I was hoping that it would cover up the tartness, but no.  For 80 calories, it wasn’t bad.

Dinner was centered around the OU / BYU game.

Standard American Diet (SAD) cookout meal – a burger and chips.

IMG_3754

Right.  “Chips” made of zucchini

IMG_3755

and kale

IMG_3756

and some potato circles

IMG_3757

Plus an organic black angus beef burger with white cheddar and tomato.

IMG_3758 

Matt’s plate was much more standard.

IMG_3762

Burger with all the fixins on a bun and potato circles.   He does eat kale chips but there weren’t all that many (small head of kale, I guess), so he ate his share while waiting for the burgers to cook.

Both the zucchini and kale were tasty tonight but neither cooked as expected or looked good.  I’ve tried 3 different methods now of making the zucchini chips:

  1. Bake at 400 for 30 minutes
  2. Bake at 350 for 40 minutes
  3. Bake at 300 for 40 minutes

Tonight I tried option #3 and ended up leaving them in the oven an extra 15 minutes while we did the kale and potatoes.  They absolutely refused to cook and crisp up.  I think I liked the texture best when I made them a la option #1 but there was a higher percentage that burned.  They tasted good tonight but the texture just wasn’t there.

And the kale chips were a disaster.  I was hungry and impatient, so I “stirred” them with my flipper earlier on than I should have and ruined their appearance.  But they tasted fine, so I guess that is all that matters.

For dessert we had a mixing bowl full of red grapes.

IMG_3764

And a few dark chocolates

IMG_3770

But I’m still hungry and am about to search the kitchen for something exciting.

It’s been a low-key day and a disappointing night. I cannot believe Sam Bradford got injured in the first half of the first game of the season.  I cannot believe we lost our first game.  And I’m pretty sure Landry Jones is going to need to work on his facial hair before the next game.

I think tonight’s game deserves some drowning of the sorrows in a bottle of wine – it was truly SAD.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2009 9:04 AM

    I hope you feel better! I have a question about the Oikos. When I called Stoneyfield’s information line, they said all their yogurts except Oikos were gluten free. I was pretty disappointed, but I see that you tried it, so I’m wondering if you have different information?

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      September 7, 2009 9:28 AM

      I believe – and I could be wrong – that Oikos and some of their squeezable yogurts are not certified GF, whereas the rest of their yogurts are. If that is the issue, maybe that is why they told you it wasn’t GF, because it was a CYA for them? Before I ate it the first time, I did some research that indicated it was GF and according to the ingredients it surely looks GF. I have had zero problems with it, so my instinct is that it is OK, but I will have to watch it carefully from now on. Thanks for letting me know!

  2. September 7, 2009 3:52 PM

    Your hot choc drink sounds great! Are your measurements for one drink, or more than that?

    Glad to see I’m not the only one into the grapes these days… although your bowl was shared. I eat that many for just me. 😉

    Hope you start feeling better!

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      September 7, 2009 8:15 PM

      The chocolate syrup stuff makes about a third of a cup. I typically use a tablespoon or two in my hot cocoa, but it depends on how much water I add to the syrup when making it, which thins it out. It keeps well in the fridge in a squeeze bottle.

      I wish I had more grapes!! I would eat them all but they are actually one of the fruits Matt likes so I’m forced to share. 😦

Leave a Reply

