Skip to content

Go Noles!

September 7, 2009

Happy Labor Day!

I can’t decide what I like more about holiday weekends – the extra day off work or the fact that the next week is super short.  For this reason, I hate when holidays fall on Fridays!

I’m feeling much better but still not 100% so we’ve been taking it pretty easy here and bumming around the house.

Yesterday we had our Fantasy Football draft.  I think my team is going to be pretty good this year.  As a nod to OU football, I drafted Manuel Johnson to sit on my bench.

I had a protein smoothie during the draft.

IMG_3776

Both of those glasses were for me.  There IS an upside to having a husband that doesn’t eat healthy food:  more for me!

This was almond milk (Almond Dream brand), a baby vanilla oikos, a bunch of spinach, half a frozen nana, frozen berries and peaches, and (unflavored) soy protein powder (GNC).

This held me over surprisingly well. 

Later on I had some fruit.

IMG_3780

IMG_3782

The last of the grapes (shared with the husband again, although I ate most of them this time!) and an apple with almond butter.

And then we had a very strange dinner.

Being sick, nothing really sounded great.

Eggs sounded OK.

Potatoes sounded OK.

And dinner was born.

IMG_3785

Continuing the “Standard American Diet” theme, I made an omelet with egg whites, 2 chopped bacon strips, a little cheddar, and a few slices of baked potato circles.  I wish I’d left the bacon out – it didn’t add anything.  And as much as I love Spanish Tortilla, this was a poor substitute.

I also made some butternut squash fries and had some extra potato on the side. 

Overall, a filling but strange dinner. 

I had a few glasses of wine and double the chocolate chips while watching The Other Boleyn Girl.  We liked it, but we just finished watching The Tudors about a month ago.  I couldn’t help but compare the two throughout the whole movie.  I think we would have liked it more if we’d seen it first… but then we might not have liked The Tudors as much.

This morning I woke up feeling a lot better because I apparently gave all my germs to the husband.  (You’re welcome, honey!)

For lunch, I had a leftover burger patty with provolone this time and tomato.

IMG_3799

And a clean-out-the-fridge salad.

IMG_3797

Spring mix greens, raw asparagus, leftover butternut squash fries, the rest of the tomato from my burger and some green + purple cabbage.  Tossed in balsamic, honey, and olive oil.

I had a frozen natural applesauce cup for dessert.

IMG_3800

It’s no ice cream, but it was refreshing.

I did go to the gym today for weights and some cardio.  Nothing strenuous (well, I felt like I was going to die but I wasn’t) as I still feel a little tickle in my throat.  But it felt good to sweat.

For a mid-homework snack, I had strawberries and a nectarine on top of the same yogurt mixture from Saturday – 1/2 cup 0% oikos and 1/2 cup plain whole milk Dannon yogurt. 

IMG_3805

I would eat strawberries more often but it takes so long to cut them up… which, incidentally, makes them perfect for when you are procrastinating doing your homework.

Matt had made a mexican take on a chili/stew thing while I was at the gym and it had been simmering away in the crockpot, making both of us hungry, all day long.  I was really stoked and ladled myself a big bowl… only to take a bite and realize that it was not worth eating.  Apparently I do not like beef stew.  I’m pretty particular about meat – it has to be the right size and texture for me to enjoy eating it.  The beef in the stew did not make the cut. 

Since I thought dinner had been planned, I hadn’t thought of what I wanted to make and didn’t want to wait any longer to eat.

So I gave up on a real meal and had carrots and homemade salsa (one good thing that did come out of Matt cooking today!).

IMG_3811

And 2 big mugs of homemade hot cocoa.  I mixed soy + almond milk in these.  I like it better with just soy.

IMG_3812

I think an apple with almond butter is in my future.

I’m setting the alarm for a run tomorrow, so tonight will be an early one… just as soon as the Noles whoop Miami.  Go Noles!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 8, 2009 5:58 AM

    Sorry you’re not feeling too good 😦 I hope you feel 100% today! I don’t think eggs is an odd din din at all 😉 I’m all for breakfast for dinner! Good luck with your fantasty team! My husband plays every year and I may finally join in next year!

Leave a Reply

