Skip to content

Channeling Popeye

September 8, 2009

Happy Tuesday, blog world!

I love, love, love holiday weeks!  It’s almost like getting a second holiday when the following week is super short.

I woke up bright and early this morning and did a quick but torturous 3 miles.  It’s going to take a while for my body to get used to working out in the morning again, just as it took a while before I could get in the groove working out at night.

Of course, my hard run could be due to the copious amounts of wine I drank last night.  It was delicious and I had a little too much.

I wasn’t hungry at all this morning.  Not in the slightest. So I snacked all afternoon instead of really eating a meal.

IMG_3819

This is canary melon.  If you haven’t had it before (this was my first time), it tastes like a cross between cantaloupe and honeydew but a bit more “tart”.  I liked it but not better than cantaloupe or honeydew. 

I also had a mini babybel cheese.  I don’t want to think about how long this has been in my fridge since I don’t have the slightest clue as to when I bought it.

IMG_3820

I had big plans of using my lunch hour to run errands.  I haven’t made it to the dry cleaners in forever and am running out of work clothes.

But I was on a roll, getting a lot of little loose ends tied up.  The lady from the City of Monroe that I had been playing phone tag with for the last 2 weeks finally called when I was at my desk.  I felt like it was my long-lost best friend finally reconnecting.  2 weeks of back and forth for 3 minutes of actual conversation.  Love that.

So I didn’t leave and made major progress on my inbox.

Then there was some yogurt + blackberries.   Eaten while arguing with one of our service managers.

IMG_3822

And a little later, carrots and dip.  Salsa and peanut butter.

IMG_3825

IMG_3826

The hunger kicked in with full force later this afternoon.  Just as I was breaking into my snack, my phone started ringing off the hook.  I have no issues eating in meetings or on the phone if it’s something soft like yogurt or cottage cheese.

But carrots are a little obvious on the phone and I was hungry, so I ended up just using a carrot as a spoon and eating the salsa until I could get off the phone and crunch away.  This salsa is fabulous – I could eat it with a spoon.

Or carrot.

I got my hairs colored and cut after work.  After getting my hair highlighted at least once every 6 weeks for 6 years, I think I have finally found the speediest hair lady in the entire world.  Full highlights and a cut in less than 2 hours = priceless.

I somehow forgot to buy lettuce at the store this weekend and my spinach had started turning into spinach soup, but I managed to pick out some good pieces and make a mexican salad.  Spinach itself sounded really good.

IMG_3830

This bad boy contained:

  • spinach
  • tri colored peppers
  • Jennie O oven-roasted turkey breast
  • mexican blend cheese
  • homemade salsa
  • guacamole
  • light sour cream

It wasn’t all that good.  I blame the dead spinach.  Not only was it dead, I actually found a bug in it.  Even Popeye would have turned up his nose at this stuff.

And an apple for dessert.  It also wasn’t that good.

IMG_3831

My shins are a little sore already, so I’m going to ice them and then pass out on the couch.  I’m still hungry, so I’ll probably make another snack soon. 

Tomorrow night we have cocktails at Stephan Pyle’s!!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

