Skip to content

Too little, too late

September 10, 2009

Happy Thursday!

Have I mentioned how much I love holiday weeks?  The week is almost over!

Strangely enough, I’ve not had much of an appetite the last two days.  We’ve had a lot of people in from other offices, so I’ve been incredibly busy in a not-normal way.  Today I didn’t even get to my desk until 1:30 PM!

So the combination of not really being hungry (SUPER strange for me) and being really busy means not a lot of pictures.

I went to the gym yesterday morning and had a really fantastic upper body workout and 25 minutes on the stair climber.

I had a protein shake which ended up being breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

IMG_3832 

This one had:

  • 1 c. nonfat plain yogurt (Dannon)
  • raspberries, blueberries, blackberries, and strawberries
  • scoop soy protein (GNC)
  • 1-1/2 c. almond milk (Almond Dream)
  • half a frozen nana

It was a little too yogurt-y.  I probably won’t put that much yogurt in it again.

This kept me full for 5 hours and then I had a little cantaloupe that I rescued from the back of the office fridge.  I had left him there on Friday but he was still good.

IMG_3835

Clearly I did not leave much on Friday.

We had cocktails with some friends at 6:30, so I had almond butter with an apple on our way out the door.

(Did ya catch that?)

IMG_3839

I wanted dinner when we got home but I was exhausted.  In situations like this, I’m reminded how important it is to plan ahead.  I didn’t have anything I could throw in the microwave to reheat and I didn’t want another apple.  My only options were to make something or subsist on chocolate chips and wine alone.

Obviously I chose the latter.

I thought I would be starving this morning but I wasn’t.  I took today as a rest day and spent the whole morning at the hotel we are holding the meetings at.  The first time I got to eat was at 1:30.

I had yogurt, blueberries and lots of walnuts.  And not 15 minutes later, some Chicken Provencal Stoup that escaped the camera.

IMG_3860

For dinner, I was craving crunchy romaine and tuna, so I planned to make tuna salad on top of a salad.

Little did I know that my husband had so graciously taken the last morsel of mayo in our house off my hands.

While I was at the grocery store.

Seriously.

And I didn’t figure this out until after I had made my entire salad and just needed to add a little mayo.

Too late.

So I improvised.

IMG_3868

  • packet of (water packed) tuna (Starkist)
  • 1/2 red pepper, diced
  • 3 stalks celery, diced
  • 1/3 red onion, diced
  • 1/4 c. cottage cheese (Daisy)
  • 1 T. Grey Poupon mustard
  • lemon juice
  • S+P

The mustard was OK.  It was definitely better with the mustard than without but I would have rather had mayo. 

You better bet I’ll be keeping an emergency jar of mayo around for the 3 times I year I eat it because it always seems to coincide with the times we are out.

I also had some zucchini chips.

IMG_3872

This time, I baked these at 400* for 38 minutes.  They were better but still not quite there yet.

I’m currently eating yogurt with strawberries and a peach.

IMG_3879

While waiting for my chips to cook, I took the opportunity to clean out the fridge a little and chopped up some strawberries that were nearly dead to freeze and throw in smoothies.

It wasn’t until after I cut them up and put them in the freezer that I realized I had used the same cutting board I just cut up an onion on.

So one of these days, my smoothie might surprise me.

I’m exhausted and have an early wakeup call tomorrow (yay gym!) so I’m going to finish my snack and hit the hay.

Later!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

