Skip to content

Green Mud

September 11, 2009

I’m so ready for the weekend!

It’s rained a lot today in Dallas – our lawn is very happy.  I love rainy days because they make me super productive.  It was a glued-to-my-desk type of day, which I really needed.

I dragged myself out of bed this morning and made it to the gym for weights and 30 minutes on the stair climber.  I have a Body Bugg and I think it is interesting where I burn the most calories.  The stair climber sometimes seems twice as hard as running and yet I don’t burn but half the calories.  Of course, those things aren’t 100% accurate; it’s just interesting to see what it perceives as my exertion on one activity versus the other.

I am really loving working out in the mornings.  I’m more tired at night so it’s easier to get in bed early and I love having my evenings free.  The only issue is that I am a lot more rushed getting ready for work.  I’m also a lot slower – probably from being tired from the workout.  Coupled together, I’ve not exactly been on time to work lately.

I had another happy green protein shake this morning.

IMG_3882

Possibly not the prettiest smoothies (it kind of looked like something you would find in a swamp), but it was nutrition-packed:

  • a heaping bunch of spinach
  • soymilk (Silk Light Plain)
  • half a frozen banana
  • peaches
  • berries
  • scoop soy protein (GNC)
  • 1/4 c. plain Oikos

I am here forth naming this the Magical Smoothie.  Typically, I require a protein + fat combo to stay full but this is practically fat-free and still keeps me full for longer than anything I’ve eaten lately.  It must be the volume combined with the protein.

I had some canary melon while doing my cost management homework over my “lunch” hour. 

IMG_3889

Never before has melon lasted so long in my fridge without my purposefully rationing it.  I just don’t like this stuff all that much.  It’s like a cantaloupe and a honeydew melon had an affair and this melon is their illegitimate child – not quite cantaloupe, not quite honeydew, not quite good.

I saw beautiful grapefruits at the grocery store last weekend and brought one for lunch today.

IMG_3890

Eaten on a super classy paper plate. 

He looks good, doesn’t he?

He wasn’t.  Sour and somewhat underripe.

I also had a baby vanilla Oikos.

IMG_3891

Better than the grapefruit.  Would have been even better if I’d eaten it before the grapefruit.

Pizza sounded good for dinner, but I couldn’t be bothered to go to the trouble of making it, so I settled for a much easier and much quicker omelet instead.

IMG_3893

I got distracted emptying the dishwasher and let him burn a little.  Oops.

Mr. Omelet had tri-colored peppers, egg whites, a whole egg, cheddar and mexican spices.

This was good, but I wanted a little extra. 

Well, what I really wanted was a chocolate + almond Hershey’s bar.

But I settled for something a bit healthier although far less tasty.

IMG_3901

An apple that kind of tasted like water.  Meh.

And my newest obsession:  hot cocoa.

IMG_3903

Wait, your hot cocoa doesn’t come with a cat?  How sad for you.

Zeus is a big fan of hot drinks.  When he was an itty bitty kitten, he became fascinated with coffee (definitely my fur baby) and now he just wants anything that comes in a mug.

This picture reminds me that this weekend, I have to get out and get new blinds for the kitchen.  I’m not so into rockin’ the mismatched stuff.

I’ve been getting email after email about sales at my favorite stores.  Ann Taylor Loft, The Limited, and JCrew are all having sales and I’m going to do a little sale shopping tomorrow !!!

We don’t have any major weekend plans now that the OU / Idaho State game is only on pay-per-view which isn’t even being offered by Verizon.  I would have happily paid the $40 to see the game.  And the FSU game also isn’t being broadcast, but at least it is available online.

I’m looking forward to sleeping in tomorrow!  Soon to bed I go!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2009 8:40 PM

    Glad you had a productive day 🙂 I also LOVE working out in the morning. It just makes the whole day that much better!! Bummer that the melon isn’t that good 😦 I like honeydew but I LOVE cantaloupe (in case you didn’t know haha). Love eggs for dinner- easy, filling, delicious. Your kitty is such a cutie 😉

  2. thedallasceliac permalink*
    September 13, 2009 12:54 PM

    Thank you! Watermelon is my favorite, but cantaloupe is a close second. I thought I would like the Canary melon, but it was not meant to be!

Leave a Reply

