Skip to content

Germs & Ice Cream

September 14, 2009

I could feel it coming.

When it gets rainy and the seasons start to change.

When I have a whole lot of really important things to do at work.

When I already have travel booked for a trip to OKC this week.

When we have weekend plans and I have a house to clean.

When it couldn’t possibly be more inconvenient…

…I get sick. 

But let’s back up a little.

I spent yesterday lounging around, eating brownies.  Jenna’s brownies really are THAT good.

You could say I was carb-loading for my run yesterday afternoon.  I was going to test out the new insoles and the arch-taping method.

IMG_3944

Hot stuff.

I’m just standing here, relaxing and you can see just how badly I supinate.  It’s actually comfortable for me to stand on the outsides of my feet.  I’m a freak.

The good news is that I think the combination of the two (or maybe one versus the other, but we’ll never know) really helped.  I ran a 5k and while the tape felt strange, it didn’t bother me.  I stretched and iced when I finished and am not having any pain today.

Keeping my fingers crossed that spending half an hour taping and a fortune on athletic tape will allow me to run pain-free.  Thank you genetics – I love my high arches! (/sarcasm)

I fell asleep really early last night.  Maybe that was my body’s way of telling me that something was germinating…

I woke up with a little sore throat this morning and by the time I got ready and made it to Starbucks, I knew I wasn’t going to last at the office very long.

(I probably should have just turned around at that point, but calling in sick on a Monday is highly suspicious)

I made it at the office for an hour and ended up back on the couch in my PJs.

I made breakfast around noon.  I was looking for soft, squishy foods and what is better than yogurt and fruit for soft & squishy?

IMG_3946

IMG_3947

  • 1/2 c. plain 2% fage
  • 1/2 c. plain whole milk dannon
  • blackberries
  • 2 kiwis
  • a huge nectarine that was anything but soft and squishy

I also had 2 spoonfuls of that highly addictive super processed white chocolate peanut butter. 

I did homework and work all afternoon even though I really felt like lying comotose on the couch.  Deadlines are deadlines and perhaps this will teach me to be less of a procrastinator.

For dinner, the husband brought me ice cream.

That sounds singular, doesn’t it?

What I really mean is he brought me ice creamS. (Grammer, be damned!)

IMG_3949 

IMG_3950

I have a husband that wants to clog my arteries with heavy cream.

Right.

Because after a weekend of brownies, what I really needed was more sugar-laden crap.

(According to the husband, he almost bought me another hershey’s almond bar, too!  Thank God he didn’t!)

I just finished my second bowl and I have to say, ice cream is pretty much gold for a sore throat.

Doesn’t taste half bad, too.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2009 2:30 PM

    hi there! I just found your blog through a comment you left on Kath’s blog. I look forward to reading more as I have just started eating gluten free.

    I need to hunt around for that brownie recipe. I have been messing around with almond flour and love trying new recipes!

  2. September 15, 2009 2:35 PM

    Ice Cream is definitely the best cure for a sore throat! 😉 Omg your fruit and fage looks so delicious!

  3. thedallasceliac permalink*
    September 15, 2009 7:27 PM

    Christie,

    I love almond meal as a flour replacement – it makes baked goods really moist. Send me your brownie recipe if it ends up being a good one! I’m always on the hunt for ways to make brownies even better.

    Dawn,

    Thanks! I’ve been eating a lot of yogurt + fruit lately 🙂

  4. September 15, 2009 7:38 PM

    oh gosh! I hope you feel better quick! VERY sweet of the husband to bring you ice cream 🙂 Ice cream ALWAYS has a way of making me feel better!

  5. thedallasceliac permalink*
    September 15, 2009 8:14 PM

    I give him a hard time for his artery-clogging ways, but he’s a keeper 🙂

Leave a Reply

