Skip to content

Well that mystery is solved

September 15, 2009

While working from home today, I discovered the reason my laptop screen has been accumulating cat hair at a faster rate than the rest of the house.

IMG_3968

Don’t they look cozy?

Yes, that’s my crazy desktop picture.  I love turtles (hence owning two) and my Dad sent me that picture a while back.  It makes me smile.

I woke up feeling better today but stayed home to avoid continuing to spread germs around the office.  I’m still not feeling great – I hope it’s just a 48 hour bug – so I’m glad I stayed home.  I did get a lot of uninterrupted work done but I could never work at home full time.  I was bored out of my mind!

Though, being able to watch movies while I worked wasn’t all that bad.  I pulled out the only 2 DVDs we still have:  Walk The Line and Lord of the Rings.  They were both fabulous.

Since I didn’t get my tuna salad kick last week, I had some for lunch today.  I bought 2 containers of mayonnaise (even though I only use about a tablespoon, once or twice a month, it’s always gone when I need it) and from now on, will always buy 2 containers at a time.  That will hopefully stop us from ever running out.

IMG_3955

Mostly the same mix as last time:

  • packet of water-packed tuna
  • 1/4 c. cottage cheese (Daisy)
  • 1 T. mayo (Hellman’s)
  • lemon juice
  • s+p
  • chopped celery
  • chopped carrot
  • chopped red onion
  • chopped red pepper
  • tons of romaine

That little tablespoon of mayo makes all the difference in the world.

I had a spoonful of crack white chocolate peanut butter for dessert.

IMG_3959

I might or might not have licked a little of the spoon before this picture and I may or may not have had 2 more spoonfuls like this throughout the afternoon.  Oh, the danger of working 10 feet from the kitchen.

I had a cheese stick in between phone calls.

IMG_3962

People talk all the time about how having kids means their house is never clean.  We say the same things about our cats.  Unless we hide their toys in closets so they can’t get to them, every bit of straightening up the cat toys we do is undone in about 30 seconds when they drag all their toys out into the middle of the room.

Oh, and their toys?

Not standard catnip stuffed mice or balls.

They have an obsession with ear plugs, plastic grapes, and anything they find in the (uncovered) trash can.  If we crumple up a piece of paper and throw it away, the next morning it will be in the middle of the living room.

Anyway, dinnertime rolled around and pizza sounded good again so that’s what we went with.  This time I chopped up 1/3 of a red pepper and put it on top.  When I could eat normal delivery pizza, I always ordered pepperoni with green peppers, mushrooms, and onions, so I don’t know why I always eat my homemade pizza so plain.

IMG_3977

IMG_3976

Messy but oh-so-good.

I had another plate this size.

There is still a LOT of ice cream left in the fridge.  It didn’t sound good right after dinner but I’m having a little more trouble fighting the temptation, so a bowl might be in my future…

Off to watch The Biggest Loser!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2009 8:17 PM

    You must have some serious patience in the kitchen… there’s no way I would be able to cut up my veggies so tiny for tuna salad! Maybe that’s also why yours looks much more delicious than mine. 🙂

    I’m watching TBL too… love that show!

  2. September 15, 2009 8:42 PM

    Haha, cute cats 😀

  3. September 15, 2009 10:35 PM

    lol, that is why you should get a protection cover for your laptop’s keypad. :-)I have one, but mine is to prevent the accumulation of crumbs and ketchup stains as I eat while I type (which I am doing right now).

    Haha, what a great way to eat salad…topped with a nice pizza!

  4. September 16, 2009 6:38 PM

    Oh my gosh, the kitties are so cute. Mine do that too. So much cat hair all the time!

    Hope you enjoyed BL.. I did 🙂

  5. thedallasceliac permalink*
    September 16, 2009 8:38 PM

    Adi,

    I only like raw onion if it’s chopped very small, so I chop the rest of my veggies to match. I wish they were all the same small size though – still working on that!

    VeggieGirl,

    Thanks!

    Burpexcuzme,

    I really should look into that. The cats have screwed up my laptop six ways to sunday on more than one occasion (you would think I would learn to leave it closed!).

    Maggie,

    Thanks! And I did enjoy BL – so happy it’s back on!

Leave a Reply

