Skip to content

Good things come in BIG packages

September 16, 2009

A very neat surprise was on my doorstep when I got home today.

IMG_3991

So cool!  Thanks, Chobani!

I had to incorporate it into my dinner, so I tried the one I’d heard the most about on the blog world:

IMG_4005 IMG_4006

The 2% Pineapple.

It was awesome!!!

Super creamy, perfectly pineapple-y, and totally amazing.  I think I have found my new favorite yogurt.

The stats on these babies aren’t bad, either:

160 calories

2.5 grams fat

21 grams carbs

13 grams protein

And the BEST part?  The stats on the website say that the product is not only gluten free, it’s also corn, soy, and nut free. 

I have never found corn-free flavored yogurt – this is very cool.  I am looking forward to enjoying the other flavors.  What a treat!

**

Backing up…

For dinner I had my version of baked ziti:  Minus the ziti, plus veggies.

IMG_4004

IMG_3999

  • asparagus
  • carrots
  • sugar snap peas
  • yellow squash
  • red pepper

topped with marinara, a little cottage cheese (Daisy), and a very healthy sprinkle of part-skim mozzarella.

Matt picked me up another Hershey’s Almond bar when he was out and, well, I just can’t resist them.  When I went GF, my taste for candy changed and now I like a lot of things I didn’t before and vice versa.

Apparently Zeus likes Hershey’s bars too.

(My cats are such good sports!)

IMG_4016

For an afternoon snack, I had almonds.  I know quite a few people that really like almonds, but I’m really meh about them unless they are coated in chocolate or ground into almond butter.  They’re easy and fine for a quick snack but I prefer cashews if I’m just going to eat them plain.

IMG_3990

Times about 15.

I also had a spoonful of White Chocolate peanut butter.  I must get that stuff out of the house soon.

Lunch was more of the Chicken Provencal Soup, which was good but is definitely not photogenic. 

And breakfast was yogurt (1/2 c. nonfat plain Dannon and 1/2 c. whole plain Dannon) with blackberries and walnuts.

IMG_3980

What did you all think about Biggest Loser last night?  I’m really surprised at how emotional the contestants are already and the story about the one lady whose children and husband were killed in a car accident made me a little teary-eyed.  I really like the firefighter – I hope he does well.  And I’m glad they brought Dan back.  For him to want to come back after all the hell he went through last season, he must really want to lose the weight.

I’ll also be interested to see how this season is with Bob & Jillian working together.  I like Bob but I don’t think one of his contestants has ever won.  I wonder if that had something to do with it?

**

I’m still feeling a bit under the weather (although quite a bit better than yesterday), so I took another rest day today.  I’m pretty tired, too, even though it’s not all that late, so I think I’ll get in bed after I hit publish.  One of my employees went to the doctor yesterday and has strep, so I have my fingers crossed that what I have is just a virus that’s on its way out.  I’m giving myself extra recovery time since I was sick Labor Day weekend, got over it, and then got sick again.  Apparently I didn’t really heal the first time around.

To bed, to bed!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2009 8:10 AM

    Aw, your Zeus kitty looks like my georgey kitty!!

  2. September 17, 2009 8:03 PM

    Merry Christmas to you, from Chobani! That’s awesome!

    I watched Biggest Loser too, and yeah, it was a pretty intense first episode. Looks like it’s going to be a good season.

  3. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 2, 2010 1:58 PM

    Lucky girl with your Chobani package! You’re cat is def a wise one.

    • hrmeredith1 permalink
      March 2, 2010 1:58 PM

      Oops, i meant “your”. dangsky

Leave a Reply

