Skip to content

The only ship that doesn’t float

September 19, 2009

It’s a good thing that you can’t catch something from over the internet.

I’m sick again.

Or maybe I should say that I’m still sick, since it appears to be the same thing I’ve battled and won (or thought I won) twice already in the past 2 weeks.

I just came back from the doctor, who gave me a nice big shot in the bum, and prescribed an oral antibiotic to start taking tomorrow along with ear drops and pain meds.

The doctor was super strange.  He spent 10 minutes telling me his credentials and how great his Urgent Care facility is.  He talked about how he found out the hard way that the only ship that doesn’t float is a partnerSHIP (cute) and how his partner’s wife eventually ripped him off for $5 million.  Entertaining, but not what you want to talk about when you feel like your head has been run over by a semi.

He also asked a gazillion questions about Celiac.  Normally I’m more than happy to educate anyone on it, but not today.  I can promise that whatever is going on with my ears, nose, and throat has nothing to do with Celiac.

I didn’t catch the official diagnosis – some sort of ear infection that has spread to my throat – because I couldn’t get him to stop talking about himself for long enough.  But I’m hopeful that within the vast array of antibiotics and pain meds, something will wipe out the resilient bug that has been plaguing me for the last 2 weeks.

For whatever reason, my stomach sometimes reacts strangely to even GF antibiotics and pain meds, so I’ve come to avoid taking them when possible which is why I didn’t go to the doctor during episodes 1 or 2 of this saga.

After making a follow up appointment, we wandered over to what used to be Trinity Medical Center and is now Baylor Medical Center (Tenet seems to sell their hospitals like trading stock) because the doctor claimed that Baylor always stocks the specific type of ear drops he recommends.  I have never been to a hospital that was as absolutely deserted as this one.  We had to wander the halls aimlessly looking for someone that could point us to the pharmacy… which when we finally found it, was actually closed.  What kind of hospital has a pharmacy that is closed on the weekend?  Seriously.

We gave up and tried Walgreens even though Dr. Self-Absorbed claimed they didn’t usually have it… and lo and behold, they did.

We also went by Braum’s next door for the only thing that I can imagine trying to consume right now.

IMG_4073

That would be a chocolate milk shake.  It was fantastic.

I didn’t start feeling sick again until mid-day yesterday but  food was a little odd all day.  Nothing sounded good and I wasn’t really hungry.  Definite precursors to getting sick.

IMG_4052

This was a typical magical smoothie:

It was good.  There was barely a hint of onion and while I would have rather it not been there, it was OK.

It also held me over really well.  But I was also busy.  Really, the true test of a food’s satiety factor is how long it holds you over when you’re bored.

IMG_4063

A black plum.  It was super juicy.

IMG_4064

And an apple.

I didn’t get everything I needed to get done done yesterday, but I can do some of it tomorrow.  I finally had a meeting with Big Boss that finalized some decisions that I’m not really happy about, but I’m not surprised.  Next week is not going to be a good week for some.

By the time I got home yesterday, I was feeling pretty bad.  Dinner was ice cream and yogurt.  Dinner of champions.

IMG_4071

More of the Haagen Dazs “Five” line.  So far, this ice cream sits really well with my tummy.

And some more yogurt from Chobani:

IMG_4068 IMG_4069

I haven’t read a lot of positive reviews about the Pomegranate flavor, so I expected not to like it a lot, but I was pleasantly surprised.

It’s not my favorite flavor of theirs and I don’t particularly think it tastes a lot like pomegranate – more of mixed berry flavor – but it is good and I liked the pomegranate seeds in the yogurt (which has been the thing most people haven’t liked).

I’m off to watch football and be miserable until all the meds kick in.  I’m sure there will be more ice cream/milkshakes/yogurt in my future tonight.

Boomer Sooner!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2009 3:02 PM

    Aw 😦 Feel better. That is my favorite sick dinner too.

  2. September 19, 2009 3:26 PM

    I’m sick too 😦 Get well soon!!

  3. September 19, 2009 3:30 PM

    Feel better soon 😦

    I answered you question about the whole foods hot bar on my blog but in case you didn’t get a chance to check back, I wanted to let you know here, too. Last night was the first time I have tried the hot bar at WF since going gluten free. Today, I am showing some symptoms of inflammation (the reason I don’t eat gluten) so I have a feelings it was a case of cc because I did check all of the ingredients. I have only been g-free for less than a month so I guess I am still learning. 😦

  4. September 20, 2009 6:19 PM

    awwwwww you poor sweetie! I hope you feel better! Keep eating the soft stuff and whatever else makes you feel better chica! Sorry about the crappy dr’s experience

  5. thedallasceliac permalink*
    September 20, 2009 8:33 PM

    Maggie, VeggieGirl, and Erica,

    Thanks! I do feel a little better already.

    Christie,

    I’m sorry that WF glutened you. I’ m always so tempted every time I’m there – I really was hoping that you had a good experience so I could also try it.

  6. September 25, 2009 4:58 PM

    We’re sorry to hear you had that experience at Baylor Carollton. Making sure our patient’s needs are met while they’re visiting our campuses is of the utmost importance to us so we have forwarded your concerns to the hospital. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope that you’re feeling better.

    Ashley Howland
    Twitter: @baylorhealth
    http://www.Facebook.com/BaylorHealth
    http://www.BaylorHealth.com

Leave a Reply

