Skip to content

Green Eggs and…

September 23, 2009

Yogurt.

Seriously.

I’ve read several bloggers opinions on whether blogging everything you eat all day changes the way you eat.  The consensus seems to be that no, they would be eating expertly arranged plates of vibrantly colored, perfectly portioned food whether they took pictures of it or not.

I tend to disagree.

While blogging hasn’t changed so much the type of food I eat – I didn’t go from sitting on the couch all night eating bon bons to working out and eating vegetables – it has changed the timing of when I eat and how much thought I put into my meals.  I think knowing that someone is looking at everything you’re eating has to have some impact on your choices even if it’s small.

I didn’t sleep much last night.  I fell asleep around 11:30 PM and woke up for no apparent reason at 3:30 AM.  I laid in bed, pretty much awake, until 4:30 and then got up and puttered around on the computer for a bit before accepting that I wasn’t going to go back to sleep.  I was at the office very early this morning.

I bought what I assume is a kind of purple kale at the grocery store a while back and it was still kicking around in the fridge.  I threw it in a smoothie this morning along with a popeye serving of spinach… which may have been its downfall.

IMG_4144

Pretty but not so tasty.  I made the mistake of popping it in the freezer while I showered, during which point I must have entered a time warp because it was frozen solid and the kale and spinach took on the texture that I would imagine is akin to the slime that accumulates in fish tanks.

I choked it down.

And then proceeded to eat little more than yogurt for the rest of the day.

IMG_4147

Honey Chobani.  I liked the flavor but it wasn’t sweet enough.

I got a call from one of our VPs who offices out of the place we just laid the people off from.  Apparently, the temp agency didn’t get the message to the temp that had been working for us for a year (at which point, she’s really not a temp…).  We tried to get in touch with her yesterday but failed to, so we called the temp agency, who appeared competent enough and said they’d get her the message.

Our VP happened to look out the window and see her get out of her car and start bringing in her lunch and bags.  He had to go out and tell her.

Ugh.  It just gets worse and worse.

I had a depressingly long lunch meeting during which I drank coffee and called it lunch.

More yogurt after “lunch”:  Pomegranate Chobani (escaped the camera).

Plus an apple:

IMG_4150 

Not the prettiest picture… 

But this was one of the best apples I’ve ever had.  It was a Jazz apple.  I highly suggest you find one (but not in the Dallas area – I’m going to find and buy them all).

The one positive thing about having few groceries is that you get creative. 

IMG_4157 

Spinach and egg whites with Johnny’s seasoning.

IMG_4153

And a nectarine, a kiwi, and MY THIRD YOGURT OF THE DAY. (This was a plain 2% Fage).

I almost didn’t have the yogurt.  I tried to find something else.  But I wanted the yogurt. 

I’m pretty exhausted – a few sleepless nights will do that to ya – so I’m going to guzzle some wine and head to bed. 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. martica permalink
    September 23, 2009 10:10 PM

    I started blogging for some accountability. Like you said, people are watching what I eat and it really does help in keeping me on track. I’m really enjoying it tho. I look forward to preparing my snacks, meals, smoothies and then taking fun pics. Hope you’re rested.
    Martica
    http://martica45.wordpress.com

  2. September 24, 2009 2:04 AM

    Sorry about your rough day =/

    I’m really glad apples are coming into season 🙂

  3. September 24, 2009 5:15 AM

    I have tried the food journal style blogging thing a couple of times in my blogging past and it just doesn’t work for me. I think that it DOES impact choices that are made and I can’t hang with that. I always felt guilty for eating leftovers or food that wasn’t pretty. I had to give it up (yesterday) and just go back to the style of blogging that I prefer which is to just write about my life as it relates to food and my struggles along the way.

    Anywho, I am sorry there was more bad news at your work today 😦 And even though the smoothie did not taste good, it sure does look pretty!

  4. September 24, 2009 6:00 AM

    Works sounmds stressful for you these days. I hope you’re finding time to relax and de-stress when you can.

    I’m not sure blogging changed the way I eat, but it definitely changed the way I throw stuff on my plate. 🙂 I never photographed everything I ate, and when I switched to NOT blogging every day, I took even less photos of what I was eating… but I prefer it this way. It keeps me saner!

  5. September 24, 2009 6:01 AM

    … and to answer your question on my blog, I’m feeling pretty good! I’m being extra careful with the gluten and sugar these days and my tummy is feeling a bit calmer. Yippee!

Leave a Reply

