Skip to content

Mac n Cheese + Peas

September 26, 2009

Happy Saturday!

I just got back from the office… put in a good 7 hours, but it was productive and I got homework for one of my two classes done and out of the way.  I’ll do the other homework on Monday evening, which means I have zero, zip, nilch requirements for tomorrow.

When I left the office, there was a pickup truck driving very, very slowly around the parking lot.  When they saw me, they literally stopped the truck and sat there staring at me while I got in my car.  I guess they were waiting for me to leave because when I sat in my car for a few minutes, watching them, they eventually backed out of the parking lot and slowly drove around the next office building, very slowly.  They finally exited the office buildings and drove down the street, but I think they were just waiting around for me to leave so they could come back.

I was really creeped out, so I called the non-emergency line for the police who said they were dispatching a car to drive by.  I then called our IT guy who was at our other office 5 minutes away and asked him to drive by later on to make sure the building was secure.

Really strange.

Anyway, backing up to yesterday:

I had an early meeting with the big boss who practically kicked me out of his office for fear of swine flu when he heard me speak.  I had woken up feeling pretty sick again and was intending on going back to the doctor again.

I really believe that doctors double-book appointments on purpose.  I waited for nearly an hour before I got in to see him and told him that despite a week of antibiotics, I really wasn’t feeling any better and that I thought I had a sinus infection.  He gave me a stronger antibiotic, so we’ll see how I feel this time next week.

I stopped by the house to get a Darvocet and grabbed a Larabar to eat on the way back to the office.

IMG_4194

Tasty. Reliable. Larabar.

I had yogurt and blackberries

IMG_4195

and an apple

IMG_4200

for snacks during the afternoon.  I stayed late at the office to get more things done despite being absolutely exhausted from less than 6 hours of sleep a night all week.  Stress = no sleep.

We went grocery shopping finally last night and I grabbed a couple unpictured string cheeses to eat on the way there.  We toyed with the idea of grabbing dinner while out, but by the time we were done at the store, it was 9:30 and I was having trouble staying awake.

I considered not eating dinner, but then I remembered the emergency Amy’s frozen mac n cheeses that I have in the deep freeze.  I like these a lot, but I don’t usually choose to eat them when I’m at home and have other options.

This meal was a flashback to my childhood.  Truly comfort food.

When we were little, my mom would serve my sister and I mac n cheese with applesauce and either baby carrots or peas when she wanted to feed us separately from her and my Dad and quickly.

IMG_4205

IMG_4206 IMG_4208

I have forgotten how much I like this combo.  It was good when I was 8 and it’s still good.

I’ve also forgotten how much I like peas.  I think they are the forgotten green vegetable… maybe because of their sugar content.  I like almost all vegetables and try to rotate them frequently in my diet (try is the key word) but I haven’t eaten plain old peas in years. I’m not sure why.  They’re sweet and mild and contain a surprising amount of protein.  A 2/3 cup serving contains 5g!

I had the usual wine + chocolate chips and fell asleep immediately.

I was up and at the office by 7:15 AM this morning.  I would have preferred to sleep in but there is nothing I hate more than wasting valuable weekend time.  I’m much more likely to feel deprived of relaxing weekend time if I were to have slept in til 10 and gotten home from the office at 5 than to have gotten up early and gotten it over with.

My first weekend misto in quite a while:

IMG_4212

You know, just in case you forgot what a Starbucks cup looks like.

I had yogurt again:

IMG_4214

Blueberries and yogurt are hiding underneath the giant walnuts.

I seem to only really have two workday yogurt combos:  blackberries + yogurt and blueberries + walnuts + yogurt.  I really like chopped apple with cinnamon in yogurt but it’s less portable.  I also like nectarine + strawberries + blackberries + yogurt but again, less feasible to bring to the office unless I want to wake up an hour earlier to chop all the fruit.

I didn’t bring much food with me because I knew I had soup in the freezer, but I somehow forgot about that when puttering around the office fridge trying to find something to eat.

I settled on a grapefruit while finishing my homework.

IMG_4217

This grapefruit was super sour.  I probably looked like I was in pain while eating it.  But it was nice and juicy.

And now that I’m home, I’m eating again:

IMG_4220

A really good Red Delicious apple.  I’m glad it’s fall – I love these apples but they are really hit or miss during any other season.  I cannot stand mushy apples – this one was really crisp and flavorfull.

I had my apple with a packet of cinnamon peanut butter.

IMG_4218

I found this at Whole Foods last time I was there and was intrigued.  I already combine cinnamon and peanut butter/almond butter when I do my chocolate peanut butter cottage cheese combo but I’ve never had cinnamon flavored peanut butter before.

This was OK.  It tasted a bit bitter (maybe needs more sweetness?) but because I ate it on the apple, it wasn’t as noticeable.  I don’t think I’d buy it again, but it wasn’t awful.

The day is still young, so I’m hoping to get some laundry + cleaning done so I can truly relax tomorrow.  It’s been one hell of a week!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2009 4:39 PM

    Food you love when you’re 8 years old that you forget about, and then rediscover, is the BEST! 🙂

  2. September 26, 2009 6:56 PM

    WHEW! Yes, definitely rest up after your week – you deserve it!!

    Cinnamon-topped applesauce = nostalgia alert 😀

  3. September 26, 2009 8:43 PM

    I hope you enjoy your super relaxing Sunday! I have the same thing on my Sunday agenda!

  4. September 28, 2009 4:34 AM

    LOVE the new blog picture (you’re such a gorgeous lady) with the starbucks cup 😉 I bet there was an awesomely delicious misto in there haha. Working on the weekend? Thats no fun. Our office got broken into a few weeks back and now shady trucks/vans totally freak me out. Yogurt and berries/nuts is such a great combo. I like Justin’s maple AB, never tried the cinnamon flavor.

  5. thedallasceliac permalink*
    September 28, 2009 9:25 PM

    Adi,

    Agreed! It was awesome!

    VeggieGirl,

    Cinnamon plus applesauce is one of my all time favorites. But it can’t be the pre-made cinnamon applesauce.

    Christie,

    Thanks – hope you had the same!

    Erica,

    Thank you 🙂 And you are definitely right – it was most certainly a misto. I’m really nervous about the breaking in – the place next door to us got broken into twice over the last year. Guess we’re next 😦

Leave a Reply

