Skip to content

Playing Catch up

September 29, 2009

I’m back!  The forces were conspiring against me yesterday, but not today!

Work has been crazy (doesn’t it always seem like I say that?  It’s ‘cause it’s true) and I’ve still not been sleeping well or feeling really well.  In fact, I think there is something in the antibiotic I’m taking that seriously messes with my stomach, but I can’t afford to stop taking it because I’m really truly tired of being sick.  I’m going on 3 weeks of fighting this bug but I’m finally feeling like I’m on the mend.

Good times this weekend, though…

Sunday

I was finally able to sleep in a little, which was really nice.  I was still tired when I woke up to the alarm at 10, but I knew I wouldn’t sleep worth anything Sunday night if I didn’t get up then.

We made Sunday brunch!

A twist on eggs, bacon, and hash browns.

IMG_4226

2 eggs + 1 egg white “fried” in cooking spray, on top of baby spinach.  Unfortunately, I got distracted emptying the dishwasher and let them cook a little too long, so the egg yolks were pretty set.

Plus 2 strips Hormel bacon.

And 1/2 a potato in potato circle style with ketchup.

Good stuff.

And I’m sure I ate something for a snack, but I don’t have a picture of it and I can’t for the life of me remember.

It was a really relaxing day:  lots of football watching, keeping tabs on my fantasy team (I won!), reading a new book, and dozing on the couch.  Doesn’t get too much better than that.

Friday’s dinner was too good not to repeat (and I was too lazy to make anything else):

IMG_4235

Mac n cheese with peas and applesauce with cinnamon.

I had a couple glasses of wine and 2 servings of chocolate chips and called it a night.

Monday

Sometimes I “oversleep” because I hit my alarm clock long enough that it borders on obscenity and since I can’t get my act together fast enough to make it to work.

Other times, I actually oversleep because I forget to set my alarm.  Well, I set it, I just didn’t turn it on.

So I awoke at 7:45, super comfortable and really confused as to why it was light in my room. 

I had a yogurt + blackberries for breakfast.

Typical.

IMG_4242

For lunch, I had soup.  I adore this soup – possibly one of my all-time favorites and it’s so easy to make and freeze.  I omit the potatoes but otherwise follow the recipe.

IMG_4248

A little later, I had almonds…

IMG_4245

and veggies and guac:

IMG_4251

IMG_4252

See that little dropplet of guac that made it to my desk?  I was so careful taking my picture that I had to sacrifice some to the desk.

And for the last snack, which was a little past his prime:

IMG_4253

Since I have 6 new employees, I don’t really get to sit at my desk for more than 5 minutes and do any of my own work.  I spend the day rushing from desk to desk, putting out fires.  But then at the end of the day, when I have 800 emails in my inbox and my desk is literally covered in paperwork, I get a little time to myself to whittle down the work beast.

Or not.

I stayed until 8 last night working on work stuff and homework.  The catch for my wonderful, relaxing Sunday meant that I saved half of my homework that was due on Monday until Monday night… which was not smart, considering I had at least 3 hours of hardcore, uninterrupted work work to do to even make a dent in what I didn’t do during the day.

But homework was due, so that’s what I did.  And I rushed home, only to forget my camera, who was innocently hanging out on the corner of my desk.

I was exhausted and tired and really not in the mood to make dinner, but I preserved and drug out the produce to make tuna salad squared.

(I apologize for the really bad blackberry pics, but hey, they’re better than nothing.)

IMG00060-20090928-2044

  • packet water packed tuna
  • 1/4 cup cottage cheese
  • chopped celery
  • chopped onion
  • chopped carrot
  • chopped red pepper
  • lemon juice, s+p

On top of a the largest romaine head I’ve ever seen.  I actually couldn’t finish it all and brought it for work today, but didn’t get a chance to eat it.

I also had leftover potato circles.

IMG00058-20090928-2044

I fell asleep pretty early, but I woke up at 1 AM with my to-do list running through my head.  I got out my blackberry and emailed myself to-dos and finally fell back asleep. 

Today was crazy enough that I didn’t get to eat until this afternoon.  I have to keep better purse snacks to prevent this.

I did have my usual misto plus an additional tall cappuccino this morning.

And the best breakfast of the year (ignore the fact that “breakfast” was eaten at 2):

IMG_4262

  • 3/4 c. lowfat plain yogurt (Dannon)
  • 1/4 c. full fat plain yogurt (Dannon)
  • 1/4 c. pumpkin (365 brand)
  • a red apple, chopped (Jonathan, I believe)
  • pumpkin pie spice
  • cinnamon
  • stevia

It was AWESOME and totally reminiscent of fall.  The weather here has started to become fall-like too, which makes me really happy.  This is my favorite season and unfortunately, my world always seems to blow up around this time of year, so I rarely get to really enjoy it.

This year, I’m determined to do the fall thing:  pumpkin patches, haunted houses, and Halloween!

I had a couple string cheeses when I was making dinner.

IMG_4264

Sargento Light Mozzarella string cheeses are my absolute favorite despite the fact that they haven’t gotten the standard sizing thing down yet.

Dinner was baked veggies + mozzarella.

IMG_4271

The usual mix:

  • asparagus
  • red pepper
  • yellow squash
  • sugar snap peas
  • carrots

with Classico tomato sauce, a little cottage cheese, and a healthy topping of part-skim mozzarella.  Good stuff.

We’re watching the Biggest Loser now.  I get a kick out of the sponsored products – they’re so fake.  You can always see it coming:

“Well, Susie Q, one thing that you’re fighting is finding quick snacks that are healthy AND filling.  I have just the thing for you…”

And then they pull out the product and talk for 10 minutes about how great this product is.

Right.

But entertaining nonetheless.

After The BL, I have any early date with my pjs, my bed, and my book.  I need to catch up on sleep so I can finish getting well.  I haven’t hit the gym in 2 weeks now (!!!) but I’m finally feeling well-enough that I think I will go back tomorrow morning.  I’m looking forward to it!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2009 9:37 AM

    Sorry to hear you’re still not feeling well 😦 I think all of this work and stress is whats keeping you sicky. You need a nice vacation. Soup is wonderful in the fall. That bfast with the yogurt/pumpkin/apples looks out of this world

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      September 30, 2009 8:30 PM

      I think you’re absolutely right. If I had some time off, I could recuperate more quickly. You should try the yogurt + pumpkin + apple combo – it’s perfect for fall!

  2. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 2, 2010 2:04 PM

    I hate it when my camera battery craps out on me and I have to use my crackberry. unfortunately it happens alot. You’d think I’d learn my lesson and charge my battery everynight….guess not.

  3. February 3, 2012 1:49 PM

    Sounds like you’re hanivg a great day! I love your RAKs, so cute! The way Monika did those Easter letters is the way cute! Happy Easter!

  4. February 5, 2012 8:35 AM

    CguWDd tijiqebxqvin

Leave a Reply

