Skip to content

Oops

September 30, 2009

Every once in a while, I get too big for my britches and stop being so ridiculously anal about the GF status of everything that I touch.  When I first went GF… maybe for even the first couple years… I wouldn’t put anything in my mouth that I hadn’t 100% verified to be safe.

Somewhere along the way, I apparently assumed I knew it all and stopped checking everything to the ninth degree before I consumed it.  Sure, I still always check labels, but I don’t always google it when it looks safe.

A few months ago, I was perusing the office candy jar and found some Hershey’s Dark Chocolate miniatures.  Since I know the big version is GF, I assumed (without any fact-checking) that the minis were also GF.  That is not a safe assumption and I ended up getting very sick from 2 tiny pieces of candy that weren’t all that good to begin with.

Since I’ve had a sinus infection type thing going on for the last month, I’ve become increasingly less worried about what the meds I’m taking will do to my stomach and more concerned about whether it will finally conquer the bug I’ve been fighting for so long.  I didn’t check the current GF status of Darvocet and I don’t think I checked the GF status of the first antibiotic I was on, but in hindsight, it must have been OK.

Apparently, the antibiotic I’m on is not GF.  I’ve slowly started feeling like I’ve been glutened over the past few days (I started taking it on Saturday).  Today I feel like I was run over by a train.  I haven’t felt this bad in a long time.

Did I call the manufacturer to verify the GF status before I started taking it?  Nope.  I was so happy to have a stronger antibiotic that I started popping the pills immediately after the pharmacy filled them.  I don’t know why I didn’t think about it – I just didn’t.  Guess it doesn’t matter now.

All it takes is one slip up to knock yourself flat on your back.  This is (hopefully) my one dumb slip up for the year and I’m seriously paying for it.  It’s funny to think that for 21 years, I ate gluten in large quantities every.single.day.  And now I take 2 small pills that happen to contain trace amounts of gluten and I feel like I’m dying.

Needless to say, I didn’t make it to the gym today.  I hope I feel a lot better tomorrow, because I’m really missing it.

I haven’t eaten much today and I don’t think I’ll eat again tonight – I have no appetite and am thinking about just going to bed super early.  I took the antibiotics this morning so hopefully tomorrow morning – 24 hours after the last dose – the meds will have made their way through my system and I’ll start feeling better.

I did have coffee twice this morning again.  I always stop by Starbucks on my way into the office since it’s literally on the way, but lately my boss has been wanting to have our morning meetings at Starbucks and my resistance to another cup is weak at best.

IMG_4276

My cappuccino was super foamy.

I powered through a lot of stuff at work today despite feeling awful.  I managed to clean off my desk for what feels like the first time in months and I made headway on several to dos.

Somewhere during the day, I had my most substantial “meal” thus far:

IMG_4278

IMG_4280

The oh-so-predictable yogurt + blueberries + walnuts combo.  I enjoyed the pumpkin + yogurt + apple so much yesterday that I think I’ll bring it tomorrow.  But this was good too.

I also had a banana.  I need to freeze the rest of these for smoothies because they passed ripe a few days ago.

IMG_4281

Is it strange that I don’t like banana flavored anything but I’ll happily eat a raw one?

I finished my book last night – City of Thieves by David Benioff.  It was excellent. I love WWII historical fiction (or non fiction) and I love anything Soviet/Russia related.  This book combined the two.  It was well-written and the fastest I’ve read a book in a long time.  I tend to lose interest with books if they’re not compelling enough that I read them within a few days/a week.  If a book has been in progress for longer than that, I may take 6 months to finish it, or I may never finish it.

I’m thinking about getting a cup of peppermint, ginger, and fennel tea to calm my tummy and heading to bed.  It can only go up from here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2009 8:35 PM

    Feel 100% better soon!

  2. October 1, 2009 7:26 AM

    Booo to antibiotics with gluten. Hope you are feeling better soon.

  3. October 1, 2009 12:30 PM

    Hey there. I just found your blog. You are so cute and i’m so excited to keep readign!! I’m sorry about the antibiotic, that stinks!! hope you feel better!!

  4. thedallasceliac permalink*
    October 1, 2009 9:04 PM

    VeggieGirl,

    Thanks! 🙂

    Christie,

    Makes you wonder what they possibly needed to add gluten for…

    Natalie,

    Thanks for stopping by!

  5. February 16, 2011 8:50 AM

    I’m so happy to read this. This is the type of manual that needs to be given and not the accidental misinformation that’s at the other blogs. Appreciate your sharing this best doc.

Leave a Reply

