Skip to content

Halloween-themed

October 1, 2009

Happy October!  This is my very favorite month of the entire year. 

Clearly I am in the Halloween mood already. 

For breakfast, I had zombie-colored sludge:

IMG_4282

Kind of looks like the color of Frankenstein’s skin, eh?

This green monster (in more ways than one) contained:

  • 1-1/3 frozen bananas
  • 2 cups Silk Light Plain soymilk
  • 1/2 scoop GNC plain soy protein powder
  • 1-1/2 cups frozen peaches
  • and a giant helping of baby spinach

It was one of the best smoothies I’ve made in a while.

I snacked on a severed finger and dried (brown) blood:

IMG_4284 

aka baby carrots and crunchy almond butter

And ate a grapefruit as big as a baby’s head:

IMG_4285

Plus some string cheese that if I’d taken a picture of, I could claim looked like fingers.  But I think you know what string cheese looks like by now.

I still seem to be lacking an appetite, probably since I’m still not feeling great.  I considered skipping dinner but decided it wasn’t worth being ravenous tomorrow.

IMG_4286

pumpkin + yogurt + apple

I can’t think of a zombie-related thing to compare this to.  But it had pumpkin in it, so it’s definitely halloween-y.

**

I had a really sad thing happen on my way home from work today.  I saw a big turtle (a red-eared slider) on the side of a median trying to cross the road on a semi-busy street (he’d made it halfway already), so I did a u-turn and pulled up right before him to shield him from any more cars.

Sadly, I was too late.  He’d already been hit.  I don’t think there was any way he could have survived what apparently hit him – I’m 99.9% sure he was killed in an instant.  If he’d been moving in even the slightest way, I would have taken him to my vet.  But his legs were out and he wasn’t moving at all.  I’ve rescued my fair share of turtles and a live turtle does not hang out with his legs out on a busy road unless he’s actively walking across it.

It was the saddest thing I’ve seen in a while.  I came home and picked up both Franklin and Olivia (the tortoises) and told them I loved them.  Poor turtle.  😦

**

Did anyone watch Glee last night?  Kristin Chenoweth was amazing!

I did end up finally eating dinner last night:  mac n cheese and peas for the third time in a week.  It got the job done and didn’t make me feel worse.

And now I’m off to drink tea and call it an early night.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2009 12:19 PM

    I didn’t watch last night’s Glee! I love the show though, I’ll watch it later.

    So sad about the turtle 😦 I get really upset when I see animals on the side of the road. Once I saw something that was still struggling :(:( So sad :(:(

    On a lighter note, your halloween themed post was pretty funny 🙂 I love October too.

  2. October 2, 2009 12:25 PM

    Aw, sorry about the turtle 😦

  3. October 2, 2009 6:58 PM

    Poor turtles… at least you were going to try and help.

    I love all the Halloweeny eats – how festive. 🙂

  4. October 3, 2009 4:09 PM

    I LOVE HALLOWEEN TOOOO! Its my favorite holiday. I think its awesome that you made a lot of October themed foods today 🙂 I am very sad that there is a pumpkin shortage this year….major bummer

Leave a Reply

