Skip to content

Thinking in reverse

October 5, 2009

(I love that song!)

You know those days, weeks, months where it feels like the world is conspiring against you?

It’s been one of those months.

But today was a reprieve.

For a Monday, it was the calmest, most productive day in quite a while.

Unfortunately, it didn’t get off to a great start.  I woke up at midnight (after about 0.00003 seconds of sleep) with my to-do items threatening to fly straight out of my head.  So I got up and did a little work and finally went back to bed a few hours later.  I’m still not sure if I’m quite awake.

I spent a few hours after work, at work, doing homework and got home with a rumbling tummy and zero desire to make anything.

I peered in the fridge and

BAM!

there it was

IMG_4383

Well, actually it came in pieces that I assembled in about 5 seconds.  There was spaghetti (albeit very little) underneath the spinach + meat sauce mountain.

Plus a side salad with balsamic + olive oil + honey that I assembled while the sauce + noodles heated up.

IMG_4374

Rockin’ the tupperware.  Emptying it into a real bowl would have wasted precious seconds.

Since I spent happy hour studying federal income tax (pass the margaritas! it’s a party!), I had a little snack to tide me over til my 2 second dinner.

IMG_4373 IMG_4372

Almonds and a baby apple.  This apple was the highlight of my day.

Rachel Ray’s Chicken Cacciatore Stoup for lunch:

IMG_4370

and Chobani with walnuts for brekkie

IMG_4367 IMG_4368

I’m generally a huge fan of Chobani but I think this is my least favorite flavor yet.  It seems chalkier than the rest of their yogurts and it’s too sweet.  But it served its purpose and filled me up.

Dinner last night was a freezer special

IMG_4364

IMG_4365

Mexican Chicken Chili over rice with light sour cream and a sprinkle of cheeeeeese.

I had another GF english muffin with PB+J (same snack as Saturday)

IMG_4362

and yet another bowl of spaghetti with meat sauce, mushrooms, and spinach for lunch

IMG_4360

It was delicious but now it’s gone (thank God) and I’ll have to put some thought into food again for a few days until I find another leftover to eat 5 days in a row.

I received some bad news at work today.  Unfortunately, I can’t share it for a while and it doesn’t have anything to do with me, but it’s still bad news.

I’m ready to cuddle with the kitties (and the husband) and do the wine thing before heading to bed early.  I have big plans to hit spin tomorrow morning!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2009 7:06 AM

    I know what you mean! Eventually, we’ve got to catch a break, right? Your meals look delicious though! I do a lot of freezer leftovers too, although I’ve been so busy studying this week, I haven’t had time to make anything. Hope today is better for you!

  2. October 7, 2009 1:51 AM

    Hope you’re feeling better soon =/ At least you have kitties and a sweet hubbie to cheer you up 🙂

  3. October 7, 2009 5:20 AM

    Freezer leftovers are the best!

    Hope you had a nice evening with the kitties and husband!

Leave a Reply

