Skip to content

30-30-150

October 8, 2009

Happy Thursday – my favorite day of the week!

I slept well last night except for about 15 minutes around 4:30 AM when the husband got up to use the restroom and inadvertently woke me up.  I was highly confused as to why I was awake when it was still dark (although with winter fast approaching, it won’t be long until it’s dark when I leave for work and dark when I get home) until I rolled over and looked at the clock.  Fortunately (or unfortunately) I was able to go back to sleep and slept in about 15 minutes past my “have to get out of bed NOW” wake up time, which means I was a teeny bit tardy to work this morning.  It’s funny how I keep pushing that time back as I get less sleep.  It used to not be acceptable for me to stay in bed past 6:50.  Now I’m doing good if I’m out by 7:15. 

But then again, I’ve been rocking the au naturel wavy hair look recently which requires about 5% of the effort it takes to straighten my hair.  Lazy is ‘in’.

I’m holding down the fort by myself tonight as the husband is out of town, visiting a friend, so I’m hoping to get motivated enough to do a whole bunch of homework in advance of the Monday deadline…

BUT I’ll probably just read blogs while drinking wine.

Just being honest. 🙂

**

Breakfast was a vanilla Chobani with blackberries

IMG_4425

IMG_4428

This had a nice vanilla flavor, but it wasn’t very sweet.  I might add some stevia to it next time.  And I’m now completely out of blackberries… need to put that on the ever-growing grocery list.

I had veggies + guac for a snack.  I always forget that avocado is actually a fruit.  IMO, it doesn’t count.  It’s not sweet.

IMG_4430

IMG_4432

After eating the guac, I realized that it expired on 10-01-09.  Oops.

I also had some Rachel Ray soup

IMG_4436

Uh, FYI, I’ve given up on trying to make defrosted soup in a tupperware container look pretty.  It’s just not going to happen.

I admire people that come home from work with a desire to cook dinner.  Generally, I eat whatever I can throw together in the least time possible.  I think it would be different if Matt and I ate dinner together, but since we don’t, I don’t feel any need to go to great lengths to make myself anything special when I’m already exhausted and ready to collapse on the couch.

I had a hankering for veggies with marinara tonight, though, so I sacrificed 5 minutes of prep time and 30 minutes in the oven.

This

IMG_4438

became this

IMG_4442 

(hello captain obvious!  that’s what 350* will do to some cheese!)

This was just the usual asparagus-squash-red pepper-snap peas-carrot mix with marinara and about half a bag of mozzarella.  The cheese is the important part.

And now I’m about to kick up my feet and do homework read blogs, drink wine, eat a mountain of chocolate chips, and hit the hay.  I have to get on the road at 6 tomorrow morning which is well before my normal wake-up time.

But first!

Did ya know that Foodbuzz has announced the nominees for the 2009 Foodbuzz Blog Awards?  Click here to vote.

There are several blogs I read in the healthy living category and I’ve discovered cool new-to-me blogs in the process.

Big congrats to the nominees!

One Comment leave one →
  1. akentuckycreation permalink
    October 8, 2009 9:54 PM

    Interesting day of food. You may want to check out my blog. I have several quick to prepare meals and meals for a crockpot. Many of my days when the kids were home left “no” time to prepare dinner. Lee

    http://www.akentuckycreation.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

