Skip to content

I-35 Oklahoma: The project that never ends

October 9, 2009

When I moved to Oklahoma from Texas 6 years ago to attend OU, I-35 was under construction between Norman and Oklahoma City.  (Mostly just non-major road repairs)

Today, 6 years later, it’s still under construction.

They move so slowly that when they finally finish one piece, another one needs repair.  And after that, another one.  When they’re finished, the first stretch of highway needs repair again.

I’m firmly convinced it will always be under repair.  Which makes driving the stretch not enjoyable and, given that it’s the only route from Norman to OKC, really frustrating.

I left the house at 6:45 this morning…  45 minutes late.  For the first time in my life, I’ve developed really bad insomnia.  Or whatever you call it when you wake up in the middle of the night and are unable to fall back asleep.  (Stress?)

I didn’t make good time on the road, either.  It was pouring and my camero doesn’t do so well in waist-high water.  But it cleared up after the first hour or so and I had a rather uneventful drive.

IMG_4447

IMG_4451 IMG_4450

Good ol’ Oklahoma.  Green fields and blue grey skies everywhere. 

I’m glad to be back in Texas, but I do miss Oklahoma more than I ever thought I would.  I met the husband here, graduated college here, got my first big-girl job here.  Oh, and my BFF and sister both still live here.

I had plenty of Starbucks today.  I even shared some with my jeans.  🙂

I also found this baby in my desk in OKC

IMG_4456

Best. Flavor. Ever.

Lunch was a mediocre fruit and spinach salad.  I threw about a third of it away because it wasn’t very fresh.

IMG_4459

And now I’m eyeing another Larabar for a snack before we go out tonight.  Not sure where, but it’ll probably be quite late, so I’ll see you guys again tomorrow morning!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lindsey permalink
    October 18, 2009 3:48 PM

    I tried a lara bar after reading your blog, the pecan pie is my favorite so far, but I have a lemon one in my bag. I eyed the coconut cream pie one, but didn’t pick one up. I’ll have to try them. AND! After searching everywhere, I finally found individual serving sized pack of guac – and WALMART! YAY!

  2. thedallasceliac permalink*
    October 18, 2009 6:17 PM

    Lindsey,

    I like the pecan pie one a lot too! Instead of making a little pecan pie for myself this thanksgiving, I’ll probably just eat that larabar. You should definitely try the coconut cream pie – it’s probably my current favorite. Great find on the guac!

Leave a Reply

