Skip to content

Weekend Recap

October 13, 2009

Lately, I’ve been joking to my friends and family that the pile of paperwork on my desk has grown to alarming proportions and might one day fall over and trap me under it.

While that didn’t exactly happen, I have been rather busy lately. 

I had a great weekend in Oklahoma with my best girlfriend.  We went out for drinks with a few friends on Friday night.

A VIP happened to be there and was nice enough to buy our drinks and this bottle of wine, which is now a favorite.

IMG_4463

Bad lighting, tipsy me.  Not a great combination.

I had a lemon bar larabar while we were out.

IMG_4468

And a smattering of larabars over the rest of the weekend.  It’s a good choice and I tend to abuse them when I’m traveling because they’re easy to pack and reliably safe.

We went to the OU/Baylor game on Saturday – 50 yd line tickets!

IMG_4476

IMG_4479

IMG_4481

It got pretty cold when the game was almost over, so we hung out inside the lounge, watching the last couple minutes.

Dinner was Outback because I deeply desired the Thunder from Down Under dessert.

IMG_4482

Wine!  For me!

IMG_4485

Simple salad:  greens, red onion, cukes, tomato, and cheese.  I don’t know what Outback does, but their salads are far superior to any other chain restaurant.

IMG_4488

IMG_4490

IMG_4493

There was, of course, plenty of Starbucks during the trip

IMG_4497

and more Larabars.

Unfortunately, my memory card filled up and I have no pictures after Sunday AM.  😦

**

One of the things I am asked often is how I eat when I travel. 

The truth is, it’s really difficult.  I tend to err on the safe side and generally try really hard to stay away from restaurants, which is very difficult. 

A few tips:

1.  Pack shelf-stable foods.  My safe foods have changed as my other food intolerances have changed, but I currently pack fruit such as apples or bananas, Larabars, dried fruit, nuts, mini-packs of nut butter (such as Barney Butter), packs of water-packed tuna, dry cereal such as Rice Chex, and pre-portioned servings of hot cereal (GF oatmeal/oat bran or brown rice cereal).

2.  Never count on chain restaurants in the area.  It’s not always safe to assume that menus are the same across state lines. 

3.  Request a room with a mini-fridge and microwave, always.

4.  Seek out health food stores or grocery stores in the area.   Walmart usually carries already-peeled hard-boiled eggs.  You can also find string cheese, mini-cartons of milk/soymilk, and pre-cut fruit and veggies to stash in your mini-fridge.

5.  When in doubt, seek out a Starbucks (I swear, I’m not endorsed by them) or other coffee shop:  they always have milk or soymilk and almost always have whole bananas (Starbucks carries them for their Vivanno smoothies), and they now carry the KIND bars.  Sure, a latte and a banana or KIND bar isn’t exactly a meal, but it’s a hell of a safer option than risking it at a restaurant you don’t feel comfortable at.  Gas stations are also a good bet for fresh fruit, oddly enough.

6.  Decide what matters.  Generally, I feel that the most important thing is to feel good while I’m gone.  Nothing is worse than spending $$$ to fly across the country and feeling like I just want to lie in bed in the hotel room the entire time I’m there.  On the other hand, sometimes taking risks is worth it and results in some really good experiences. 

And last…

7.  Keep it simple.  A “meal” doesn’t have to be comprised of food prepared by the same restaurant or even something off their menu.  I rely on pieces of food I know are safe – a fruit cup from a fast food restaurant, an energy bar, a nonfat latte for protein, and nuts for satiety.

**

Watching TBL now – I can’t believe how rotten Tracy is!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2009 8:48 PM

    great travel tips – I don’t travel that often, but your tips will be good ones to keep in mind when I do! Nothing like keeping a couple E-bars (emergency bars!) in your purse.

    I haven’t been to Outback in years… I forgot about that place. Thanks for the reminder. 🙂 I’m now craving red meat badly.

  2. October 14, 2009 4:55 AM

    Awesome travel tips, I had a huge debacle this weekend with getting a mini fridge and micro in a hotel, we ended up having to switch hotels twice. But, in the end, it was worth it to know that I had safe food (which I brought with me packed in a cooler).

  3. October 14, 2009 1:20 PM

    Hey girl! Glad you had a fun weekend. Cute pics of you and the bud! I def eat a lot of laras and starbucks when I travel too. I love that you ate one when you were out at the bar 😉

  4. thedallasceliac permalink*
    October 14, 2009 8:12 PM

    Adi,

    Thanks! I’m a big fan of emergency purse snacks 🙂

    Christie,

    Glad you were able to get everything worked out with the hotel, but what a pain to have to switch! The cooler is a great idea if you’re driving… unfortunately (or fortunately, whichever way you look at it), we usually have to fly.

    Erica,

    Thanks 🙂 Yeah, I pulled out the larabar at the bar and finished eating it in the car on the way home. Best to be prepared!

Leave a Reply

