Skip to content

Fall Beckons

October 17, 2009

Happy Red River Showdown Day!

We went out last night to pay $$$ per person to go to a bar that wasn’t all that fun live it up on the town and celebrate OU/TX weekend.

IMG_4576_edited

The husband and I.

IMG_4578_edited

Shanda, Shimko, and yours truly.

IMG_4580_edited

And Shanda and I with my drink of choice for the night – diet coke + captain.  This was not a bar at which one would be able to procure decent wine, so I didn’t bother.

It was nice – brought me back to college days.

Well, that, and all of the OU cheerleaders, pom squad, and ruf neks that showed up.  I felt old, but they were too loud – we couldn’t hear ourselves talk – so we moved inside.  (I sound like I’m 80)

Before that, I had leftovers from Thursday night, which looked like this on Thursday:

IMG_4544

IMG_4547

Typical pasta, veggie, marinara, and cheese combo.  I think this one had grilled bell pepper strips, yellow squash, and peas.  Freezer finds.

But it also starred the absolute best cottage cheese in the history of all cottage cheese:

IMG_4542

I would eat this cottage cheese for breakfast, lunch, and dinner if I could.  But alas, it’s ridiculously expensive and I just won’t pay $6.50 for a tub of cottage cheese all the time.

But it’s amazing stuff and if you haven’t tried it, you need to. 

I also had an apple with PB (minus the PB, which was eaten out of the jar).  I think that, as Americans, we are spoiled with having easy access to fruits and veggies at pretty much all times of the year, not just during their “seasons”.  I have never been to a grocery store that didn’t have a gazillion types of apples for sale regardless of the time of year.

But eating food that is naturally in season is really more rewarding.  I was reminded of that when I ate my apple today.  Fall really is a great time for apples.  It’s really a great time for most things, actually. 

IMG_4572

Earlier snacks were yogurt and (big surprise) string cheese. 

I’ve always liked string cheese, but lately I’ve been craving it like crazy.  It’s a pretty clean food – low in fat, high in protein, low in (simple) carbs, short list of ingredients.  But one can’t live on string cheese alone (or so I tell myself as I stand in front of the fridge, deciding what to eat for dinner).

IMG_4551 IMG_4552

This was literally the last of the Chobani package (still delicious and creamy).

I also had pumpkin apple yogurt at the office while reading debt covenants.

IMG_4538

IMG_4540

IMG_4539

IMG_4541

And that about covers it:  tons of yogurt, dos apples, and some veggie pasta and alcohol thrown in there.  Rather exciting and easy.

Off to watch the rest of the game and veg on the couch.  Happy Weekend!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2009 7:20 PM

    hahaha we totally went out recently and there was live music and we all had to move because it was just SO loud 😉 Yayy for being old. The yogurt pumpkin mix is totally tasty. Cute pics of you and your friends- you are one PRETTY lady!

  2. October 18, 2009 5:48 AM

    I actually don’t really like apples except in the fall. They just taste so much better in the fall and to me they seem mealy or something otherwise.

  3. thedallasceliac permalink*
    October 18, 2009 6:15 PM

    Erica,

    Thank you thank you thank you 🙂 You are so sweet!

    Christie,

    I think it’s the mealy-ness that turns me off them during most other seasons. I don’t stop eating them, but I enjoy them less.

Leave a Reply

