Skip to content

Gossip Girl

October 22, 2009

I swear, sometimes working in an office is like being back in high school again.  I just love when someone tells me some really juicy news and tells me not to tell anyone, so I keep my lips sealed and await the time when the news becomes public. 

And then I hear the same exact juicy news from 3 other people. 

No one can keep a secret at this company and it’s really interesting seeing who you hear the news from.

One of the best things about being out of school (well, out of grade school) is the lack of cliques and really harmful gossip.  Ironically, there is still some cliqueyness in the office (adults really aren’t all that much more mature than 14 year old girls) but nothing like grade school.

Other than some gossip, it was a rather unexciting but productive day.  Had to give some really bad personal news to an employee which wasn’t fun but she took it like a trooper. 

We went to lunch at Saltgrass but I opted not to eat as I’ve been having really good luck with my stomach lately and I attribute that to the fact that I’ve been avoiding eating out when at all possible.  New Celiacs don’t like to hear this and it’s not a hard and fast rule that works for everyone, but eating out is a huge risk.  Sometimes it’s quite worth it, but doing so often can be asking for trouble. 

I had another magical smoothie instead.

IMG_4675

I added a bunch of frozen mixed berries to the typical soymilk/spinach/frozen nana deal, which turned the brilliant green smoothie into a color that closely resembled zombie skin.  As you can tell, I’m not one to wrinkle my nose at a food because of its rather sad appearance. 

Speaking of wrinkling noses, my boss thought this was the most unappetizing smoothie ever and described how gross he thought it was as I was drinking it.  Thanks Boss.

I snuck out of work not too long after 5, which was rather refreshing given that I’ve been at the office until 8:30 or later each night this week.  It’s exhausting spending that much time at the office, even if a good portion of the after 5 hours were spent doing homework and not work work.

I was ready to gnaw off my arm when I got home, but wanted some tea first.  I had a couple cups of chai tea with a little soymilk and honey and it promptly covered up my appetite.

Fulfilling my calcium requirements:

IMG_4682

You wouldn’t believe it, but I managed to eat all of my normal Sargento part-skim mozzarella cheese sticks and need to make a decent-sized grocery run this weekend.

Thankfully, Matt also likes cheese sticks (I knew I married him for a reason!), so I stole 3 of his and have promptly fallen in love. 

Colby cheese in a stick?  Sign me up!

Dinner was supposed to be a PB&J waffle sandwich but I realized at literally the last moment that I was out of jam, so I made it a PB&H and threw some honey on the other side.  Yet another thing I need to buy at the store this weekend. 

IMG_4695

and some PB on a honeycrisp apple

IMG_4698

I also ate several more tablespoon-fulls of PB right out of the jar which more than makes up for the lack of lunch.  🙂

Currently, I’m watching the sad spectacle that is the FSU/Carolina game and drowning my sorrows in zinfandel and chocolate chips.  Why are all of my football teams sucking this year? 

In other news, TOMORROW IS FRIDAY!  Woohoo!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2009 8:35 AM

    Happy Friday!!

    Thankfully, where I work there are only two women, myself included so though we do gossip, it is only amongst ourselves 😉

  2. October 24, 2009 5:10 PM

    People do never seem to truly grow up! Crazy gossip. I love eating PB right out of the jar- it makes me super happy 😉 Glad to hear you got out of work at a decent time- ENJOY your weekend

  3. Lindsay permalink
    November 12, 2009 2:44 PM

    I really love your blog as I am trying to test out how a gluten free diet will affect my life style!! I really need to cut it out because I feel sooo sick after I eat it!! I would love to see what ONE of your trips to the grocery store looks like!!

  4. thedallasceliac permalink*
    November 12, 2009 7:59 PM

    Hi Lindsay,

    Thanks for reading! I can definitely do a post on my next grocery trip, probably this weekend.

    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

