Skip to content

What’s a salad, anyway?

October 27, 2009

Yay!  It’s Tuesday night which means it’s almost Wednesday which means the week is halfway over which means it’s almost Friday!

(Great reasoning, right?)

I did end up having something other than cereal for dinner on Sunday night.

IMG_4740

Adi always makes awesome-looking egg sandwiches and I’d been meaning to try one for a while.  I used to make them way back in the day when I could eat normal food but somehow they fell off the radar.

I had a lazy-gal salad, too.

IMG_4737

 

Veggies (squash, zucchini, onion, tri-colored peppers and carrots) with marinara.  What makes a salad a salad, anyway?

According to Wikipedia, you can pretty much call anything a salad.

Busy day yesterday.  It included Amy’s mac n cheese on multiple occasions.  If I would only take a few hours, I could make a bunch of soup and other things to stick in the freezer for days like yesterday.  Instead, I subsisted rather pitifully on frozen mac n cheese.

IMG_4746

Oh so pretty and appetizing.  With a side of Income Tax homework as if the microwavable container wasn’t scary enough.

I opened a new bottle of wine last night.

IMG_4745

I have to say, I’m often influenced by the pretty label or cool bottle when I buy wine.  It shouldn’t affect why I pick up a bottle, but I’m a perfect example of why all vineyards don’t just stick a white label and black lettering on the bottle and call it good.

So I was a little skeptical of this wine because it seemed too catchy and cute to be good.

But I was wrong.  It was really pretty awesome.

The husband deserves a mention for getting up early this morning to stick dinner in the crockpot.  If you know him, you know that he is not a morning person in the least.  If he had it his way, he’d stay up until 4 AM and not get out of bed until noon.  Unfortunately, the business world isn’t on that schedule.

When we were at the grocery store on Friday night picking up the ribs, they had a sale on pot roast – buy one get one free.  Since it had been a while since we had the Mexican Pot Roast, we picked up a couple and planned on having it tonight.

I had mine salad style.

IMG_4753

IMG_4757

Beneath the ginormous pile of pot roast and cheese is a more ginormous pile of romaine, red pepper, carrot, and celery.

I like eating the pot roast as a sandwich, but I like it on a salad even more.

I also had some…

IMG_4761

Potato circles!  What do they have to do with Mexican Pot Roast?  Uh, nothing.  We just like potato circles and don’t care if they clash with the rest of the meal or not.  My maiden name was undeniably Irish and I like to think I’m just supporting my ancestry.  Right.

I have my annual review with the big boss on Friday and a lot of prep before then, so I’m going to get to bed rather early tonight so I can get in to the office early tomorrow and get a head start.  I’m most productive between 7 and 10 AM and then again from 2 pm and on.

Off to drink wine, eat chocolate chips (!!!) and watch the Biggest Loser.  If Tracey doesn’t go home this week I might cry.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2009 6:18 AM

    I love cooking potatoes like that, too. Yum! Hoooray for husbands helping with dinner!!

  2. October 28, 2009 9:13 AM

    Ow! Good luck with the review! I hope you rock it 😉 Seriously- veggies + marinara= one of the best combos ever! That is fabulous that your husband got up early to prep dinner (Josh, are you reading this??? hello ;))

  3. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 2, 2010 2:26 PM

    Menage a Trois is one of my FAVE wines! ANd I’m not a red wine drinker. I’m whitey all the way. lol

Trackbacks

  1. Fry obsession « The Dallas Celiac

Leave a Reply

