Skip to content

Halloween Hooligans

November 1, 2009

Hey there! Happy November 1st!

This month is going to absolutely fly by.  Next week we’re in San Francisco for the Foodbuzz Festival and then a little weekend trip after that.  Although, I did hear that Foodbuzz recommends no high heels for the dinner Saturday night.  I live in high heels.  I’m not so happy about that.

I was up early for an appointment yesterday and swung by the grocery store on my way back.  Matt and I usually do the grocery shopping together and he usually pushes the cart.  I’d forgotten how heavy those suckers can get when you’re doing a shopping trip that should have been done weeks ago and was thus a very, very large one.  But I made it and I’m sure I sweated off about a pound in the process.

I could have probably justified putting off the grocery shopping until we got back from our trip, but I had to pick up candy to hand out to the trick-or-treaters last night.  Matt and I don’t want children of our own but I really enjoy seeing other peoples children.  Last year we had super cute little kids and I really enjoyed handing out candy.

Last year I also ate way too much of the candy we purchased (which was full of high fructose corn syrup) because I just can’t resist fun-size snickers.

This year, I got smart and bought good candy but candy that I don’t particularly care for – fruity or sour candy.  I hope that the kids liked it.

For brunch, I was craving pumpkin on the last day of pumpkin month.

IMG_4812

IMG_4807

  • 0.5 c. whole milk plain Dannon yogurt
  • 0.5 c. nonfat milk plain Dannon yogurt
  • 1/3 c. pumpkin
  • 1 honeycrisp apple, chopped
  • cinnamon, pumpkin spice, stevia

Pretty amazing.  I don’t think this is a combo that I will retire after fall season.  It’s too good.

I got the urge to bake something after we decided on pizza for dinner.  My mom has always made pumpkin bread and banana bread in the fall.  When I was living at home, I would eat a slice topped with a smear of cold butter and it was pretty much heaven in dessert bread form.

So yesterday, I set out to make a really good GF pumpkin bread.

And it was a total and complete success!

IMG_4813

IMG_4821

(multiply this guy by about 5)

GF Pumpkin Bread

3/4 c. teff flour

3/4 c. sorghum flour

3/4 c. tapioca starch

3/4 c. arrowroot starch

1/2 c. brown rice flour, superfine

3-3/4 t. guar gum

2 t. baking soda

1-1/2 t. salt

1/2 t. pumpkin pie spice

1 t. cinnamon, ground

1 t. nutmeg, ground

1/2 t. cloves, ground

1/4 t. ginger, ground

4 eggs

1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce

1/2 c. vegetable oil (I used Canola)

2/3 c. water

15 oz. can pumpkin puree

2 c. sugar

  1. Preheat oven to 350*.  Spray 2 loaf pans with Pam and set aside.
  2. Sift dry ingredients (teff flour through ginger) until well mixed.  Set aside.
  3. Mix eggs, applesauce, oil, pumpkin, water and sugar together until well blended.   Mix in a little at a time of the dry ingredients into the wet until well incorporated.
  4. Pour into loaf pans and bake for 50-55 minutes (mine took 55) until they pass the toothpick test.

Notes:  You probably could replace some of the sugar with agave, honey, or sugar substitute if that much white sugar scares you.  Egg whites for whole eggs and more applesauce to the oil would also make it a bit healthier.

**

Dinner was Salad Pizza or upside-down Pizza Salad.

IMG_4826

IMG_4823

It was good, but I missed the pepperoni.  I seem to have a slight reaction to products containing sodium nitrate/nitrite, so I’ve decided to stay away from the pepperoni for a while.  So far today, my tummy seems to be thanking me.

We ate pizza and watched the OU game, interrupted a few times by the doorbell ringing.  Most of the kiddos were super cute, not too old (although we did have a few “kids” that were taller than me and I’m no shorty), and very, very polite.  I had just told Matt that I was so impressed by all of the “Thank you’s” I had received when the doorbell rang again.  This time, there were 3 kids that actually walked into the house to try to grab the candy.  I shouted at them to “get back” several times and they finally did.  Some kid was sassy enough to tell me that they’d done that several times and only gotten in trouble twice.  (I didn’t really feel threatened, but I sure as hell feel violated.) In that same group, I also had a kid that wanted to tell me what candy she wanted and kept whining when the handful I grabbed to put in her basket didn’t include it.  I’m stubborn and do not appreciate bad manners so I didn’t give her any more.  I’m sure I will have in some way ruined her childhood.

And that’s why we’re not having kids.

(But kudos to the parents of the other 90% of the kids we saw.  Apparently they’re doing something right.)

In honor of Halloween, we watched Orphan after the game.  It was great – creepy and suspenseful but no Texas Chainsaw Massacre (of which I’m not embarrassed to admit that I couldn’t finish watching.  Some things are just too creepy to voluntarily subject myself to).

And now, off to do the last batch of yardwork of the season (hopefully) and watch football and relax.  Busy week next week because I’m taking Friday off and will have to cram a full week into 4 days.  You know, the usual.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2009 1:35 PM

    Fabulous recipes and Halloween festivities! Love Orphan 😀

  2. November 3, 2009 9:36 PM

    Glad to hear you had a nice Halloween! We had a gazillion kids- for the most part we got lots of thank yous!! We want 1 kid….I think its always good when both parts of the couple are on the same page with that stuff. Its such a major decision. Your GF pumpkin bread looks incredible. yum yum

  3. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 2, 2010 2:30 PM

    OK, I’m totally not a stalker, I’m just catching up on all of your previous entries and commenting alot. haha

    Me and my hubby don’t want kiddos of our own either, but we love others and our neices and nephews. Do people ever look at you strangley when you say that? I’m so use to it now, but it does happen. Just wondering.

    • February 4, 2012 4:56 AM

      Oh man, your baby is *the* most aolarbde little girl ever. I can smell her baby skin, just imaging it. melting. The bread looks great too but that baby…!!! Precious.

    • February 5, 2012 8:55 AM

      A9BzJz narnkogaufgz

Leave a Reply

