Skip to content

In case of an emergency

November 4, 2009

I am a big fan of organization, which is fitting for an accountant.   I am a list maker.  I especially love writing down to-do’s that I’ve already done just so I can cross them off.  It’s nice to see on plain paper what I have to get done.  I also love organizing

Before the husband and I got married (and before I got a big girl job), I spent hours organizing the house and making seasonal cleaning lists, alphabetizing our spices, etc.  It was glorious.

Unfortunately, as I’ve gotten busier and busier, organization of my house hasn’t been top priority (things like sleeping and hygiene have won out instead).  It has been bothering me for some time now, but I just haven’t been able to get a handle on the really important things, let alone the stuff that can just slide for a while.  But I can feel the “itch” building and am pretty positive I will attack the house like the Tasmanian Devil once we get back from SF.

Recently, I started using the “Subscribe and Save” feature on Amazon.com.  For someone like me that likes to procrastinate grocery shopping, this is a very cool tool.  I signed up to get my shampoo/conditioner, hairspray, face wash, even antiperspirant shipped on monthly intervals.  We’re “Prime” members, so we get free 2 day shipping on all of our orders.  I’d like to say that the free shipping and the 15% discount are the reasons I’m excited about this, but actually I really just like knowing that a fresh new bottle of shampoo will show up on my doorstep 2 months from now without any action from me.  This is planning at its best.

Anyway, I’ve been an awful blogger as of late and don’t have a lot of pictures.  I’ve done the Starbucks thing twice a day all week, mostly because I’ve needed the extra caffeine but somewhat because…

IMG_4841

Holiday Starbucks cups!!!!!!!!!!! 

I wait all year for these, I kid you not.

Did you hear the news that Starbucks is discontinuing the Gold cards in lieu of a frequent shopper “My Starbucks Rewards” card?  Instead of a 10% discount on all orders, the new rewards card gives you a free drink after 15 purchased.  I whipped out my calculator as soon as I read about it to see if the change would benefit me or screw me over.

Currently, I save about $73 a year with the Gold card.  But the card itself costs $25, so that’s only really a net of $48.

If it can be assumed that the free drink is a venti (and that may be an unsafe assumption), I will save $49 a year.

So if I only buy drinks and nothing else, it really won’t matter what program they go with.  But the 10% discount IS handy on things like whole bags of coffee or other things they sell.  But they didn’t ask me.

I’ve also been eating lots and lots of pumpkin bread.

IMG_4832

In fact, I actually brought the second loaf to the office on Monday morning so I wouldn’t eat it… because I definitely would have if I had left it at home.  It was that good.

And of course there were plenty of cheese sticks, but you know what those look like.

For dinner Sunday night, we made a breakfast casserole.  I’ll post the recipe later, but it mainly included shredded potatoes, eggs and egg whites, turkey sausage, chopped bell peppers, jalapeño and green chilies, and cheese and spices. 

IMG_4834

Deliciousness.

Dinner tonight was fake baked ziti.

IMG_4847

Veggies + marinara + cheese?  Yes, please.

It has been a super productive week at the office.  I have plans to not check email even once while I’m gone on Friday + Monday, but I’ll carry the blackberry in case of an emergency.  I’m sure you’re wondering what kind of emergencies could come up in accounting, but I assure you, sometimes booking accruals can be a life or death issue.  Or at least you’d think, by the calls I get on my “vacations”.

Off to do the wine + chocolate chip thing with the kitties + husband.  So amazingly happy that Tracey is gone off Biggest Loser! 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2009 8:21 AM

    I am an Amazon Prime girl myself and need to get on that subscribe and save bandwagon too. I ordered a case of Annie’s G-free mac n cheese last night so we will see how long it takes us to go through that.

  2. November 5, 2009 12:28 PM

    I second that – I’m glad Tracey is off, too!

    I can’t believe that Starbucks has their Christmas cups out already. … wait, yes I can. It’s November now. Scary!

  3. November 5, 2009 6:20 PM

    I was super excited to see the starbucks holiday cups 🙂 They always make me smile. Yummy bfast casserole. ENJOY your break from work- you deserve it

  4. November 8, 2009 5:39 AM

    And there I was feeling so sorry for you that you won’t be able to eat a lot of good stuff…but holy cow, girl, you’ve got some good eats! I’m so glad! Thank GOD you can eat cheese bcause otherwise it would be a total nightmare.

    And I loved meeting you! You are so damn nice and SUCH a beauty!

  5. thedallasceliac permalink*
    November 10, 2009 9:40 PM

    Christie,

    Let me know how Annie’s GF mac n cheese is. I’ve never tried it and Lord knows I love my mac n cheese!

    Adi,

    I don’t think I’ve ever been happier about an outcome on a reality show!

    Erica,

    Thank you, hon 🙂

    Sophia,

    It was so nice to meet you, too! You are so sweet!

Leave a Reply

