Skip to content

San Francisco: Part I

November 10, 2009

Isn’t it funny how excited we all get for vacations and big events, but how being home in your own bed afterwards is almost as exciting?

We had a fabulous time in San Francisco.  It was too short and I definitely want to go back, but I’m also happy to be home, on my couch, with the kitties and chai tea and vegetables. 

Backing up…

Friday

We were up bright and early for our flight.  Earlier, actually, than I usually get up for work, but who’s counting? 

Dallas Love Field is rather lacking in the Starbucks area, but they do have a Cinnabun, which is both delightful and scary at the same time.  I adore cinnamon rolls – adore – and like smelling them even if I can’t eat them.  But the Cinnabun employees don’t seem to be as scared of the possibility of a crumb off one of the fluffy, cinnamon-y rolls dropping into my coffee cup as I am.  I can just see it now:

Local Dallas woman dies of heart attack after Cinnabun employee drops piece of cinnamon roll into coffee cup.

Ok… maybe not a heart attack…

Anyway, I had a cup with milk and balanced it, a cup for Matt, a newspaper, my purse, and my briefcase and managed to make it back to my gate without spilling anything.  Apparently all that concentration and planning wiped out the foresight to take a picture. 

But that’s OK because I had this (blurry) beauty in San Diego.

IMG_4852

Coffee + WSJ + airplane = happy Elizabeth.

Sometime during the day, I made the switch from the paper, which was enriching my brain cells, to a gossip rag, which most definitely killed a few.

I had some really unexciting almonds along with it.  Unexciting, but they did the trick.

IMG_4854

Josh cheated on Fergie?!?! Say it isn’t so!

Oh, and my second (but certainly not last) prepackaged nut product for the day.

IMG_4856 

And THEN, we arrived in San Francisco!  I held my breath as my blackberry nearly crashed itself with the 173 emails that came in (apparently my “out of office” email did not deter anyone from flooding my inbox), but I kept my vow not to actually read any emails.  Yet.

A cool $40 cab ride later, and we arrived at the hotel.   I should note that I am not the most prepared traveler ever.  It didn’t occur to me to check to see if there was a shuttle from the airport to the hotel.  After all, it’s not as if they reserve seats on those shuttles, right?  So if they’d had one, we would have taken it, and if not (as was the case), we’d take a cab.

Lucky us, our cabbie was a Muzak fan. 

But not, apparently, a personal hygiene fan.

Best combo ever.  Smelly Muzak-loving cabbie man.

Sigh.

The first “event” of the weekend was a cocktail hour at Hotel Vitale.  The view atop the terrace was gorgeous.

IMG_4864

IMG_4863

I had plenty of champagne.  There were snackies, apparently prepared by some awesome chefs, but I opted to stick to the liquid stuff.

IMG_4866

I’m sure this picture would have been better if not for the glass sweat all over the pretty table, but you know, it wouldn’t be realistic. 

Next up were “Street Fare” style tastings in the Ferry Building, just across the street.

IMG_4868

IMG_4872

IMG_4871

There were lots of good eats, but I didn’t sample any.  I think several of them probably would have been safe, but given that it was the first night of the shebang, I didn’t want to spend the rest of the festival in the hotel room.  It would have been a very expensive excuse to lay in bed all weekend. 

I did, however, get a pic with some very cool, very pretty ladies:

IMG_4869

Camile, Moi, Brandi, and Emily.

Some really bright person decided that wearing high heels to walk around SF and stand for hours on end was a really good idea.  I’ll give you one guess who that person is. 

Needless to say, my feet were killing me by the end of the night despite the fact that I practically live in heels.  I do not, however, stand on my feet all the time and definitely not on concrete.

So we caught a cab back to the hotel and I promptly passed out at 8:30 after shoving a few baggies of almond/raisin/walnut “trail mix” into my pie hole.  To be fair, it was 10:30 Dallas time, and I’d gotten up at 4:45 AM Dallas time.

Yeah, I’m a party animal. 

**

Back later with the next recap!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2009 12:17 AM

    It was great walking with you to the Metreon and getting to meet you. I am going to put a link to your site on my blog for my gf friends! Cheers!

  2. janeterin permalink
    November 11, 2009 3:46 PM

    It was so fun to meet you this weekend! Glad you made it home safe and sound. 🙂 What a great festival – I can’t believe it’s over!

  3. thedallasceliac permalink*
    November 12, 2009 9:36 PM

    Kristen,

    Thanks! It was very nice to meet you!

    Hey Janet,

    Same to you! Thanks for hanging out with me all weekend 😉

  4. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 2, 2010 2:33 PM

    How FUN! Who did you go to San Fran with? I’ve mentioned going to some of these types of events in other states and my hubs thinks I’m crazy! WTH, I’ma big girl. He doesn’t get the whole blog thing either. He just doesn’t understand. lol

    Heather@www.forthehealthofit01.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

