Skip to content

San Francisco: Part II

November 11, 2009

Day 2 of the Foodbuzz Festival started off bright dark and early, which is what happens when you crash at 8:30 the night before.

I had remembered seeing a Starbucks not too far from the hotel.  Matt is a big coffee fan as well, so it wasn’t too hard to convince him that he needed some Starbucks joy in his morning.  I also needed some food and while not the greatest thing in the entire world, the pre-cut fruit and whole bananas are reliable and edible.

Matt got one of the breakfast sandwiches, which someone promptly stole from the counter as we were getting our drinks.  Apparently it happens a lot at that particular Starbucks.  Stealing someone else’s sandwich has just never occurred to me (for obvious reasons – what the hell would I do with a sandwich?), so being on the lookout for someone that is intending to steal the sandwich is also not something I normally do.

IMG_4879

Foam!  This is joy.  In a cup. 

After a speedy shower (yes, I did visit Starbucks in all of my unshowered gloriousness) and a little primping, I made my way to the Ferry building for the farmer’s market.

IMG_4898

IMG_4896 

IMG_4899

There were some truly gorgeous fruits and veggies.

IMG_4901

I purchased $0.95 worth of dried grapes, which are apparently different than raisins. 

IMG_4913

I dug in without abandon.

IMG_4915

Plus my Starbucks fruit finds.

IMG_4906

IMG_4909

I’m not crazy about bananas.  In fact, I’m rather unexcited about bananas in general, but sometimes, eating isn’t for pleasure.  So I ate this guy to calm my growling tummy.

The breakfast portion of the Festival was held upstairs.

IMG_4902

IMG_4904

IMG_4903

But downstairs were all of the cool shops and samples!

IMG_4917

IMG_4921

Matt met me at the market and we browsed the shops and bought some olive oil and a good bit of Scharffen Berger chocolate.  The guy at the Scharffen Berger shop told me that one of their employees was a Celiac, which is how they knew all of their stuff was GF.  (Always read labels anyway)

After a very informative morning session with the owner of Hearst Ranch, a 150k acre California grass-fed cattle ranch, I headed over to the Metreon for the afternoon tasting drinking session.

IMG_4928

There were a LOT of samples and several that I probably could have eaten.

IMG_4932 

IMG_4930

IMG_4933

And I did try one of these amazingly awesome sea-salt almond butter chocolates.  Super delicious.

IMG_4935 

But the wine was aplenty and I would much rather sample it.

IMG_4937 IMG_4947 IMG_4939
IMG_4941 IMG_4943 IMG_4942

Yes, I realize there are two pretty awesome shots of that poor winemaker’s crotch.  I tried to suggest he move to the side a bit but since he didn’t, I have to assume that he just really wanted to be on my blog.

IMG_4940

How cute is the little wine charm?  Seriously.

I didn’t pace myself well and ended up a little tipsy by the time I made it to the Merlot tasting.  Actually, I ended up telling my life story to a guy who was probably far less interested than it seemed like at the time.

IMG_4953

IMG_4957

IMG_4954

I also put my finger on why I don’t really like Merlot:  it doesn’t taste like anything it’s far too mild for my tastes.  I like bold, expressive wines and I’ve had very few Merlots that fit that bill.

Needless to say, I was quite buzzed on my way back to the hotel to shower for the dinner.  I made the bright decision to walk back rather than cab it since it was supposed to only be a few blocks. 

And it should have been only a few blocks if I hadn’t gotten lost and had to take a cab… 1/3 of a mile.  Definitely one of those situations in which I used the cabbie as a map rather than as transportation.  I’m sure he was happy to make $7.

**

Back later for a recap of the big dinner, sendoff brunch, and our tourist-y Sunday!!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2009 6:21 AM

    I would have tried those chocolates too. I think it is awesome that you surrounded yourself with all of that food and didn’t really eat anything. I would have been feeling pretty deprived, I think.

  2. November 12, 2009 9:24 PM

    ah! Glad you guys had a blast 🙂 I have been loving reading all of the reviews. Happy to hear you found a Starbucks too- VERY necessary. Love the misto!

  3. thedallasceliac permalink*
    November 12, 2009 9:41 PM

    Christie,

    I didn’t really feel deprived, but I was pretty hungry! Next time, I’m going to make myself eat more meals and rely less on random snacks.

    Erica,

    Thanks!

  4. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 2, 2010 2:35 PM

    Now that looks like my kinda event. And now I see the answer to my previous question…your hubs did go with you.

    Heather@www.forthehealthofit01.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

