Skip to content

Grocery Trip

November 14, 2009

TGIF!

I need to do a catch-up post.  I so cleverly documented nearly every minute of last weekend but haven’t posted anything about this week (it’s been far less interesting, to say the least).  So that’s on the agenda for tomorrow.

We did, however, do the grocery store thing tonight.  Immediately after someone asks what the heck I eat, they usually ask where the heck I find my food.

The answer?

Same place as most of the rest of the country.  I do the majority of my grocery shopping at your normal, run of the mill stores:  Target, Walmart, Albertson’s, etc.  We have some pretty awesome stores here in Dallas (Whole Foods, Central Market, Market Street), but they’re not super close to the house and I can’t leave any one of them without hemorrhaging money.  Ironically, I spent a lot more time and money at specialty health food stores in Oklahoma, but good old Target and Walmart have decent selections here and, well, I’m lazy.  I can barely force myself to make one grocery trip every week let alone make two or more.

I should note that we spend a LOT of money on groceries each month and part of the reason for that is that the husband and I do not eat the same food most of the time.  If we were trying to save a lot of money, we could probably figure out more meals to eat together, but the fact that we have very different tastes along with his aversion to vegetables makes it challenging to come up with things to eat together.

Anyway… today’s trip was bigger than normal and included several things for our pre-Thanksgiving dinner.

First up:  Dairy, Meat, + Eggs

IMG_5169

  • half + half
  • Silk Soymilk
  • 4 each 93/7 ground beef and 93/7 ground turkey (stocking up)
  • salted + unsalted butter
  • part-skim mozzarella
  • mexican blend cheese
  • string cheese
  • 2 cartons of eggs
  • Nasoya tofu
  • provolone cheese slices
  • gouda (for Thanksgiving)
  • parmesean (for Thanksgiving)

Produce:

IMG_5173

  • acorn squash
  • butternut squash
  • baby spinach
  • collard greens (for the tortoises + me)
  • green leaf lettuce
  • summer squash
  • red bell peppers
  • tomatoes
  • guacamole
  • cranberries
  • frozen “asparagus stir fry” veggies
  • navel oranges
  • pomegranates
  • red seedless grapes
  • onions
  • garlic
  • celery

And the dry stuff:

IMG_5179

  • Larabars (stocking up)
  • spices/vanilla extract
  • sweetened condensed milk (for Thanksgiving)
  • prunes
  • mayo
  • green chiles
  • marinara sauce
  • tuna packets
  • cereal
  • lime juice/lemon juice
  • safflower oil
  • kosher salt
  • chocolate chips (!!!)
  • Tinkyada pasta
  • Annie’s Mac n Cheese
  • veggie broth
  • mixed nuts

And that’s it.  Some of the stuff is for both Matt and I, but I didn’t include any pictures of anything that was just his.  We had a decent amount of produce that was lagging from the trip the week before, plus odds and ends I brought back from SF.

Enjoy what’s left of your Friday!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2009 6:54 AM

    I think I would go nuts if my husband didn’t eat the same things I do. He is so easy, though, he eats whatever I cook. I guess I should consider myself lucky!

  2. November 14, 2009 9:46 PM

    Nice grocery haul! I’ve never seen ground meat in a tube before… in Ottawa, we stick with the awkward styrofoam trays. Tubed meat is much cooler.

  3. thedallasceliac permalink*
    November 14, 2009 10:25 PM

    Christie,

    You are lucky! But I guess I can’t complain, either, since he does most of the joint cooking when we *do* eat together. 🙂

    Adi,

    I love the meat tubes – makes it way more space efficient to freeze and easier to defrost in the fridge or in a bowl of water. I didn’t know they were exclusive to the States. 😦

Leave a Reply

