Skip to content

Twice as nice

November 18, 2009

Hi there. Happy middle of the week.

I had a really productive day of work yesterday. I feel like I’ve been spinning my wheels a lot lately, work-wise, because of all of the changes we’ve undergone in the past several months. But yesterday, everything fell into place and I was able to clear a bunch of stuff off my to-do list and get started on sales taxes – my favorite part of the month.

One of the classes I’m taking right now is individual income tax and I hate it. The recurring theme in accounting is that everything has its place and can be tied neatly with a bow (unless you’re Enron), which is why I’m attracted to it, but probably the reason it is rather odious to non-accountants. Tax is all about exceptions to the rules: y = x unless you’re an Albino man with 3 toes on your right foot, in which case y = x + 1, but not if you also have a right earring or a ponytail, and in that case y = x + 2, but only if you have one or the other. If you have both, y = x + 2.5.

Yeah. It’s barrels of fun.

Anyway, I stayed late at the office, cranking out sales taxes like wonder woman. I like fall, but since it has started getting dark early, I don’t like staying at the office late. We’re not in the slums, but the office isn’t in the best part of town and there are absolutely no street lights near the parking lot. Since I saw that pickup truck casing the place back in September, I haven’t felt real comfortable walking out to my car in the dark, by myself. So… I grab my keys as I turn on the alarm, lock the door as fast as I can, and make a beeline for my car, jump in, and lock the doors. Makes me feel better but I probably look like a crazy person while doing it.

Yesterday, I ran some errands after work, then spent the rest of the night on the phone.  I broke to make the quintessential leftovers dinner.  Sometimes I think that the whole hoopla surrounding Thanksgiving is only to get the really good leftovers for the next few days.

IMG_5247

IMG_5241

Turkey Sandwich

The turkey that was a little too sage-y when fresh was pretty awesome on a sandwich.

IMG_5243

On the side, I had butternut squash fries, tossed in mexican seasoning, sprayed with PAM, and baked for 30 min. at 350*.  With ketchup, of course.

I just realized that I had butternut squash both in fry form and in the succotash.  Apparently I was feelin’ the squash thing.

For dinner tonight, I made PB&J and a salad.

IMG_5277

 

Smuckers Natural PB and low-sugar grape jelly on a Kinnikinnick english muffin.  These english muffins are also awesome with cream cheese – try it.

And a fall-inspired ensalada.

IMG_5254

IMG_5253

  • green leaf lettuce
  • orange bell pepper
  • carrots
  • zucchini
  • craisins
  • goat cheese (Alouette brand)

Plus this new balsamic I received at the Foodbuzz Festival

IMG_5267

I liked it, but I can’t say I could taste either the blackberry or the pear.  (I should also note that I’m not sure of its GF status – I just read the ingredients which looked perfectly fine.) I drizzled it, olive oil, and a little honey on the salad and it was quite good.

Now I’m munching on grapes that I can’t ever seem to get a decent picture of and eyeing the vino and chocolate chips.

Tomorrow is THURSDAY which means it’s almost FRIDAY!  Any big weekend plans?

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 19, 2009 6:07 AM

    I have huge weekend plans, part of which includes meeting you! hooray!

Leave a Reply

