Skip to content

Fry obsession

November 19, 2009

It’s no secret to anyone that knows me that one of my favorite foods, ever, is french fries.  I’m pretty particular about my fries:  I don’t really like the thin cut ones, they have to be super salty, they can’t be even the slightest bit burnt, and they definitely need lots of ketchup to dip.

While I really, really like the traditional variety, I try to recreate them in a healthier way with all sorts of vegetables.

There are practically endless ways to make “fries” out of vegetables, although my definition of fries is pretty loose.  I tend to like the potato circles seasoned very simply (just s+p) but I season the other vegetables with all kinds of spices.

And they’re easy to make:  simply slice into whatever shapes meet your fancy, season, and throw into a 350* oven for about 30 minutes (60 minutes for potato circles).

So, easy to make, delicious, and super low-cal (if using vegetables other than potatoes)?  What’s not to like?

The husband bought his first ever mandolin the other day and has been itching to make something with them.  I was planning on making zucchini chips, butternut fries, and potato circles and having a ketchup-dipping extravaganza, but he went crazy with the potatoes and there wasn’t any leftover room in the oven.  In our next house, I definitely want a double oven set up.  (You know, for the 2 times per year this conundrum could ever come about)

So instead, I had made what used to be a staple:  frittata.

IMG_5288

This guy had:

  • egg whites
  • cottage cheese (Daisy)
  • grilled red, green, and yellow bell pepper strips
  • spinach
  • cheddar
  • mexican spices

And then the main event:

IMG_5286

IMG_5280 IMG_5282

We made them as regular potato circles, traditional fry shape, and waffle fries (which were too greasy even though we barely used any oil).

After the day I’ve had, I am ready to kick back with some vino and chocolate.   I thought this morning was going too well to be true and whatdoyouknow, something blew up this afternoon.  But it’s all good because now I have wine, chocolate, this week’s episode of Nip/Tuck and…

Tomorrow is FRIDAY!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. sandysays1 permalink
    November 19, 2009 10:30 PM

    Great! Finally someone who is willing to enjoy some fried goodies. My human and I love fried dill pickles! I’ve got a good breakfast recipe in my current post “Something special in the morning.” Visit me at http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

  2. November 20, 2009 4:20 AM

    Yum, I made potato circles last night too. Wish I had a manadlin!!

  3. November 20, 2009 10:55 AM

    I LOVE baked fries too! I want to make the zuch version soon. I’ve also had jicama fries which are fabulous. nom nom! Hope you have a good Friday

  4. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 3, 2010 10:20 AM

    I love, love, love crazy fry remakes! Id you like eggplant, you should try eggplant fries.

    Heather @ http://www.forthehealthofit01.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

