Skip to content

Pickle Love

November 20, 2009

This was one rough week. 

I ran errands during lunch today and picked up some white truffle oil for the macaroni and cheese we’re making for Thanksgiving.  I left the store with my wallet considerably lighter for what amounts to 4 tablespoons of oil, so it better knock my socks off.  We’re planning on doing a test run of a few more things this weekend.

After work, I went to the gym to lift chest & back and do a little cardio and found out that they’re closing my gym (I belong to 24 Hour Fitness) on December 18th.  I’m a bit puzzled because it’s always completely packed every time I go.  The sign that announced the closing noted that there are 34 other locations in the Dallas/Fort Worth area…  because 34 other locations in 9,286 square miles is a lot of help to me.  Actually, there are a couple other locations within range of the house, but none as convenient as the one I usually frequent.  I’ve been spending more time on the treadmill at home than at the gym anyway, so I guess it’s OK.

I’m awfully excited about it being Friday. My only weekend plans are meeting Christie for coffee (!!!) and prepping  the house for Thanksgiving.  I’m also planning on “cleaning out” my magazine drawer, which basically means kicking back and reading all of the magazines that have built up for the last few months.  It’s going to be great.  🙂

For dinner tonight, I just couldn’t help myself.  I had fries… again. 

2 kinds this time:  potato + butternut.

I ate the leftover potato fries from last night, cold, while trying to convince myself that I wasn’t going to win any brownie points from the husband by putting off a shower any longer than I already had.  The cats were avoiding me like the plague, if that tells you anything.

IMG_5293

After the much-needed shower, I made these babies.  The perfect combo of sweet + spicy.  Mexican flavored squash is pretty awesome.

IMG_5313 

I’m not crazy about eating ketchup by the spoonful, but somehow eating it in mass quantities on vegetables is peachy.

Tonight I also had a pickle craving.  I was clearly channeling Mama Pea.

Over the last few years, I’ve developed an intense love for pickles.  But it’s a very on and off love – I tend to completely forget about them for months at a time and then rediscover my crazy obsession.  I found this jar in the back of the fridge but he’s now sitting front + center for future consumption.

IMG_5307 

The main event was tuna salad… salad.

IMG_5294 

IMG_5301

  • water packed tuna (although now that I read the label, it looks more like it’s packed in vegetable broth, so shouldn’t it be “vegetable broth packed tuna” instead?)
  • mayo
  • cottage cheese
  • s+p and lemon juice
  • celery
  • onion
  • yellow + orange bell pepper
  • zucchini
  • green leaf lettuce

I have a happy kitty sitting on my leg and a glass of wine waiting.  Off to start the weekend right!  Hope you all have a great Friday night!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2009 4:29 PM

    Ahhh the amazing tuna salad is back. That always looks delicious.

    I really need to turn the rotting butternut squash I have into fries. Thanks for the much-needed inspiration!

  2. November 22, 2009 9:28 AM

    Hope you had a good weekend! I love ketchup smothered things too… especially when it’s my own homemade ketchup. Yum yum yum.

  3. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 3, 2010 10:21 AM

    Completely OBSESSED with Claussen pickles. It’s bad.

    Heather @ http://www.forthehealthofit01.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

