Skip to content

(A)PB&J

November 24, 2009

Some people tend to save up all their vacation time for the holidays.  If I had a job I could take off more than a few days at a time without the world falling apart (I’m not kidding – the world saves up its catastrophes for when I take vacation), I might think about it.  But I find that I get the most work done and have the most enjoyable time doing it when everyone else is out of the office.  The day before and the day after holidays are perfect days to tackle projects and clear my desk off.

So, I’m looking forward to an eerily quiet day in the office tomorrow and Friday.  My to-do list has grown exponentially – Lord knows I need a day to focus on it!

My sister (!!!) is coming home from college for T-day and is staying with us tomorrow night.  I’m super stoked to see her as we haven’t spent significant time together (i.e. more than an hour or two) since she went back to school in August.  I have the world’s greatest little sister.  🙂

(Good) Eats tonight were somewhat hard to come by.  We went grocery shopping, but really only picked up stuff for Thanksgiving dinner.  I guess it was a blessing in disguise, because we really couldn’t fit a whole lot more in the fridge if we tried.  And it gave us a chance to eat up some of the old stuff still lurking around the fridge.  It always happens by accident – I never intend to skip a grocery store trip so I can spend the week eating odds and ends – but it really needs to happen occasionally to keep us from throwing out any food because it goes bad before we eat it.  We’re not all too bad about eating what we buy, but there are often a few pieces of fruit or vegetables that get a little too ripe before we get to them. 

So, tonight’s dinner was a hodge podge of whatever looked like it might be on the verge of dying in the fridge.

And it turned out well!

IMG_5443

IMG_5424

(I like how they scratched out the other dried fruit that was apparently supposed to be included in the bag.)

Dressed with honey, olive oil, and balsamic vinegar.

Plus an apple with (unpictured) copious amounts of PB&J.  I really, really like peanut butter and jelly sandwiches – something about the salty peanut butter and sweet jelly is heaven in food form.  But eating PB&J on an apple is even more awesome.

IMG_5447

This was a Honeycrisp.  I’m always sad when Honeycrisp season is over – these are by far the best apples, ever.

I also had a few bites of leftover white truffle macaroni and cheese.  It’s even better the next day.

**

Last night, I ordered myself an early Christmas present.  It is scheduled to arrive tomorrow, so stay tuned!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

